The morning light streamed into my room through the curtains and jolted me awake.

The night before, after failing the entrance exam for my second choice university, I had cried and cried. My mind was flooded with all sorts of emotions and I couldn’t stop the tears. I cried myself to exhaustion and fell asleep. When I hurriedly checked the clock, it was already past seven o’clock.

──I have to apologize to Dad and Mom.

I jumped out of bed and hurried downstairs. They were both in the dining room, having just finished breakfast. Dad was reading the newspaper and Mom was cleaning up in the kitchen.

“Dad, Mom, I’m sorry I didn’t get accepted.”

I bowed my head to them first. My tear-stained face must have looked pitiful.

“You don’t need to apologize to us,” Dad said.

“That’s right, Doremi. First, eat some breakfast. You must be hungry,” Mom added.

“…Okay.”

Their voices were gentle. I sat down and Mom placed some toast and a salad in front of me. I put my hands together and started eating.

“Maybe I didn’t take the university entrance exams seriously enough, just as you both said.”

Dad folded his newspaper and stood up to boil some water.

“You just had a shorter preparation period because you decided your future path a bit late.”

“Maybe you used up all your luck with the soccer team’s second place finish.”

Mom said with a bit of humor and sympathy. After a while, the aroma of coffee wafted in. Dad handed me a cup filled with milky coffee.

I didn’t know whether to be grateful or sorry for Mom and Dad’s concern, but right now I still couldn’t think about anything.

“Mom, Dad, thank you,” was all I could say.

They both nodded in understanding. I felt like crying again, but I held myself back strongly and bit into my toast.

──I didn’t actually understand anything.

I’m not the only one who has gone through hardship. It’s not like I suffered a major injury like Ai-chan. My parents haven’t grown apart like Momo-chan’s. I still have my little sister to look after, unlike Hana-chan. We didn’t have to sell our house like Hazuki-chan’s family. And I haven’t lost my family like Onpu-chan did.

Whenever something happened, I tried to encourage everyone and help them stay positive. I thought it would be good if they could have a positive outlook.

Failing an entrance exam was nothing significant compared to everyone else’s struggles. But I can’t believe how bitter such a small thing can be. I thought I understood how they felt when they went through much harder times, but I didn’t get it at all.

──Come on, cheer up Doremi!

Just realizing this helps me grow. I have to believe that. A spark of determination to try again has ignited within me. I think it’s thanks to seeing everyone’s perseverance.

The sound of Pop’s footsteps coming down the stairs made me abandon my half-eaten toast and rush to the doorway.

“Pop, I’m sorry I worried you yesterday. I didn’t make it into university, but I’ll be alright.”

I forced a smile as I spoke to her. She turned around while putting on her shoes at the doorway.

“Geez, it can’t be helped. But next year you’ll become a university student for sure, right big sis? Otherwise I’ll become a university girl before you.”

Pop grinned and made a victory sign.

“Well, I’m off!”

She called out loudly so Dad and Mom in the dining room could hear, then left. I’m glad I got to talk to her before she went out.

Feeling determined, I returned to the dining room and standing upright, saying,

“Dad, Mom. I will definitely pass next year! More than anything, I want to become an elementary school teacher and get into the women’s university I first applied to. Please let me try again.”

I bowed my head. Dad let out a small sigh and said,

“I thought you’d say that. I feel relieved to hear it directly from your mouth before you discuss it with various other people.”

Mom sighed lightly and added,

“I’m happy you have a positive attitude again, but we can’t afford prep school fees.”

“Whoa, Mom’s being realistic right off the bat, huh?”

Dad said in a bemused tone.

“Yeah. I understand that. MAHO-do and ‘Eugene’ want me to work there part-time, so I’ll coordinate the schedule with Momo-chan and Hana-chan. I’ll ask Tsukasa-san to continue teaching me in his free time, even if I have to pay him with the money from my part-time jobs, as a way of thanking him for his help.”

I spoke quickly and laid out my thoughts. We have Pop’s tuition to think about too, and I know we can’t pay my prep school fees on top of our household expenses.

“Can you really manage both well?”

Dad asked, and I nodded firmly.

“I feel like my concentration has improved since I started studying at Tsukasa-san’s place. It’s like I learned the tricks of studying, or how to do it… But I’m still not confident about studying alone. I hope he’ll say yes to keep tutoring me.”

When we used to study together, I had no sense of pacing and would quickly lose focus. Despite the kind guidance from Hazuki-chan and others, their advice didn’t stick with me.

Mom looked at me and said,

“I’ve been asked to teach private piano lessons. Pop is very settled at Karen Girls’ Academy now to the point where she doesn’t need my classes, so I was thinking of going there twice a week. In exchange, could you help more with household chores, Doremi?”

I readily agreed to Mom’s suggestion.

“After I finish eating, I’ll go report to my school. On the way back, I’ll stop by MAHO-do and properly explain to everyone, then I’ll contact Tsukasa-san too.”

I was so glad that Dad and Mom didn’t oppose my plans. They listened to my opinions carefully. I think it’s because I made a proposal that convinced the two of them. Maybe I showed some foresight and feasibility instead of being emotional like before.

“After summer break ended, your Mom talked about how you finally started acting like an exam student. It seems like you’re really studying hard and not slacking off, so you’ll be fine. You’ll definitely pass next year.”

“Just don’t make it two years in a row, alright?”

Both of them were acting like typical doting parents. I felt like tears were about to come out from my happiness and embarrassment at their words.

“Thank you. I’ll do my best.”

That’s all the words I could choke out.



When I got to school, I asked for my homeroom teacher Yamaki-sensei, also known as Leon, to come out from the teachers’ office. Leon seemed to guess what this was about and stood up. We moved to the career counseling room, and after taking our seats, I told him what I had said to my parents that morning.

Leon listened quietly and then asked,

“How did you feel about the exam?”

“I think I panicked after not understanding the first English vocabulary word. I remembered studying it, but like you said, it was like the knowledge just spilled out of my head…”

Leon’s expression became serious.

“That’s because you hadn’t made the material completely your own yet.”

I nodded silently in agreement. I thought he was right.

“It’s true that both schools you applied to were right at the limit of your current level. So what will you do now?”

I looked straight at Leon and said,

“Today, I got permission from my parents. I’ll take a gap year and apply again next year.”

“I see. Make sure you thoroughly learn the fundamentals before next year’s exams. As long as I’m at this school, I’ll continue to advise you, so keep coming to me.”

Leon smiled smugly and got up to head for the exit. I hurriedly got up as well and bowed my head.

“Thank you for your guidance.”

I felt I could really rely on Leon.



My emotions were still a jumbled mix of gloom, distraction, and relief, but I headed to MAHO-do anyway.

“Everyone, sorry for worrying you yesterday. I’ve decided to take a gap year and reapply next year.”

When I said this, Hana-chan and Momo-chan, who had perplexed expressions, smiled and said,

“Too bad about the exam. But next year, do your best to absolutely pass!”

“Doremi, Hana will work hard for your share too.”

Hana-chan’s second-round exams are coming up next week. I can’t believe I totally forgot.

“You’ll definitely pass, Hana-chan.”

As the three of us high-fived, Ai-chan and Hazuki-chan came out of the store. I recounted everything from the exam until today. Everyone said they’d continue supporting me, which made me feel apologetic.

“I didn’t understand everyone’s pain before. Even failing the university entrance exams hurts this much…”

“Doremi-chan, pain and sadness aren’t things to be judged by comparison. Your frustration is something I can’t fully comprehend. But I don’t think those feelings should be ranked or compared to others.”

Hazuki-chan interrupted my words with a serious face.

“That’s right, Doremi! Next year you’ll transform into a university girl. Hana will tutor you perfectly!”

“Then I’ll cheer you up with sweets!” Momo-chan said.

“I’m really glad. Doremi-chan, I’m happy you’ve decided to challenge again,” Ai-chan added.

Hearing everyone’s words, I truly felt happy. I’m no longer the most miserable pretty girl in the world or anything like that anymore. Ai-chan and Hazuki-chan waved and went back inside the store. I turned to Majorika and Lala and said,

“I’ve decided to work part-time at MAHO-do and ‘Eugene’ while studying for exams, instead of going to prep school. Majorika, Lala, please let me work here again.”

I bowed my head. They both made complicated expressions.

“We’re grateful, but will you be alright?”

“That’s right. The part-time job can’t get in the way of your exam study, absolutely not.”

“I’ll coordinate with Hana-chan and pace myself. I think having that balance will be better than being cooped up at home or the library all the time.”

“You may be right. But don’t push yourself too hard.”

I was grateful for Majorika’s kindness, and I nodded.

We agreed I would resume my part-time here after the Sweets House MAHO-do ended.

“Well, I’m heading home for today. There’s still more people I need to update.”

As I waved to everyone and turned to leave, Momo-chan stopped me and said,

“Here, take this with you. If we didn’t get to see you today, we were going to deliver it. Eat it tonight with your family.”

She handed me a box containing a whole cake.

“Thank you, Momo-chan. I’ll properly help out once I’ve calmed down.”

Everyone must have realized I cried all night yesterday, but they didn’t mention it and spoke to me normally. I was really touched by their thoughtfulness and accepted the cake without hesitation.



When I got home from MAHO-do, I called Tsukasa-san. I wanted to ask him to keep tutoring me.

He picked up after two rings.

Looks like I didn't train you hard enough. And we didn't cover 'The Pillow Book' either. Once Itoko-chan's exam is over, contact me anytime. Fufufu, I'll tutor you seriously this time. Be prepared!

I felt Tsukasa-san’s kindness in his usual, matter-of-fact way of talking. At the same time, I hoped Itoko-chan would safely pass the exam.

The second-round exam period for national and public universities is late, so there are still exam students working hard. Maybe I should consider national universities in my scope next year too. It’s good to have ambitious dreams, right? No, it’s not a dream anymore. There are no easy, quick ways to achieve this, only effort. I’ll do my best!

After dinner, everyone eagerly gathered around the sweets. Momo-chan’s specially made whole cake was a spring-like cherry blossom color, with pink chocolate that looked like petals scattered on top. The sponge was light and fluffy like a chiffon cake, and it was so delicious! It may be too early for cherry blossoms, but while my cherry blossoms have scattered, the sweet taste and warm feelings will remain in my heart.

Alone in my room at night, feelings of frustration and irritation inevitably welled up inside me. I wished I could turn back time to the exam day, regretted aiming too high without the necessary skills. No, I felt a challenging spirit rising within me, a determination to attend that university next year… Various emotions surged inside me.

I opened my cellphone. Seeing everyone’s warm replies, I felt a gentle warmth spreading inside me, and the feeling that I definitely want to hear them all congratulate me a year from now arose.

I guess my emotions will fluctuate for a while. It might take a bit more time to fully accept it. But I want to bid farewell to this confusion soon and say thank you to everyone next year.



As February came to an end, the spring-like weather arrived, and talk of cherry blossoms blooming started. My feelings were finally turning positive. I put on my cleaned uniform back from the cleaners, and gazed at the large cherry tree blooming in the schoolyard. Today we had a rehearsal for the graduation ceremony.

When the cherry blossoms had just begun blooming three years ago in the spring, I became a first-year student at Misora High School, wearing a brand new uniform.


So much has happened, huh? Looking back, I can’t help but feel these three years are linked to my elementary school days.

My clumsy elementary school self accidentally became a witch apprentice and gained new best friends as fellow witch apprentices. Even though my nosy personality often got me caught up in silly situations back then, now that time feels so distant. It’s already been six years since then!

I loved Misora Elementary School and my friends so much that I wanted to boycott the graduation ceremony. I still feel that way.

Even though there were some friends who went to different middle schools and became separated, we could meet in our hometown on holidays, and there were also phone calls and emails… I made new friends here and there, so middle school felt kind of mellow compared to elementary school, like the calm after the storm.

But then when I entered high school, I suddenly became a witch apprentice again, and time really flew by at a hectic pace after that! It felt like riding a roller coaster.

Ai-chan returned to Misora City, I reunited with Onpu-chan, Momo-chan showed up, and even Hana-chan eventually. Then Hana-chan’s little sister appeared, along with the mysterious Sakura Mirai-san… If I were to recount every detail, the list would be endless. I can’t believe three years have passed already.

Even though we have the same magical powers, the difference between elementary school and now is that we don’t solve every problem with magic anymore. I think we’ve become cautious about using it.

I think it’s too simplistic to pretend that problems didn’t happen or change them with magic. And with the Internet connecting everything, there are also times when it takes a lot of power that is impossible for us to correct one flaw.

But there’s more to it than that. Compared to our elementary school days, we’ve grown up with more power in our own hands. And we realized magic isn’t always a convenient power. I’m sure I matured a lot in high school. My witch apprentice best friends, friends from elementary school, and new friends and acquaintances from high school. They all helped me grow.

And I felt the time to part ways with being a witch apprentice was approaching. Like Onpu-chan was prepared when she used magic, we were also prepared and intend to do the same.



I went back to my classroom for the first time in a while. Even though it had only been a month, my classmates looked more mature somehow.

Most students have decided on their future paths, some preparing to move, working part-time jobs, or going to driving school. But for students who took the national university entrance exam like Hana-chan, the acceptance announcements haven’t been made yet.

I’m in limbo having decided to take a gap year, but it looks like I’m not the only one. Some of the public university applicants might become my gap year buddies, but I hope everyone passes.

The graduation ceremony is the day after tomorrow already. I only have two days left of wearing my uniform and entering Misora High School. Unlike when I was in middle school, my uniform didn’t get too small by the time I graduated from high school. I had expected to grow just a bit more taller in high school, but I didn’t.



The rehearsal ended quickly, and even though I had nothing else to do, I felt reluctant to leave. I exchanged information with the other students in my class who felt the same way, and before I knew it, it was the lunch break. As it naturally turned into a dispersing atmosphere, I told everyone,

“See you at the graduation ceremony!”

With that feeling, I left the classroom and headed to the soccer team club room. Yesterday, the junior manager, Kashiwagi Chinami-chan, sent me an e-mail asking me to meet her during the lunch break today.

The soccer team is male-dominated, so Chinami-chan is pretty much the only junior girl member. Of course, I agreed to meet her.

I hadn’t seen Chinami-chan since all the third-year members bid farewell to the team. Thanks to her and the junior who became the manager after her, Seto Kosuke-kun, I had grown as well. I thought we had a good teamwork, and I could do managerial tasks properly, thanks to them.

So I told Ai-chan I’d go to MAHO-do later and went to the club room. Ai-chan’s athlete life has already started, and she was complaining the lame colors of her university jersey.

It’s the opposite of Ai-chan’s favorite blue, huh? But I think it looks good on her. It’s mature, a traditional color, and makes me want to boast that Ai-chan is part of that team now!

“Huh? The door’s unlocked…”

The empty club room was quietly still. I went inside.

“Mm. This smell, this atmosphere. Nostalgic.”

I moved around the club room, stroking the lockers and desks. The club room started out small, but as our accomplishments increased and our membership grew, it became larger and moved to a new location. I sat in my usual meeting spot and muttered,

“Yeah. This feels just right.”

As I enjoyed the nostalgia, I heard a small laugh. I turned around and saw two figures.

“Oh no, Chinami-chan! Peeking at me is sneaky.”

Chinami-chan and Seto-kun appeared from behind the locker, their hands covering their smiling mouths.

“It was expected behavior from you, Harukaze-senpai,” Seto-kun said.

“Even Seto-kun… Geez, how embarrassing!”

I could tell my face was bright red. A beaming Chinami-chan spoke,

“Congratulations on your graduation, Harukaze-senpai! I may not get to talk leisurely on the big day itself, so a bit early, but please accept these flowers as a graduation gift.”

She held out a bouquet of red and pink roses.

“Huh? This is for me?”

“Doremi-senpai, thank you for everything until now. I’m so happy I got to meet you and work together as the soccer team’s managers.”

Chinami-chan’s smiling face turned slightly tearful. Seto-kun also looked serious and said,

“You pulled me up when I was struggling in club activities and made me a manager. Thank you so much. I gained confidence in myself thanks to you, Harukaze-senpai.”

“That’s not true. I didn’t do anything… I was always relying on you two instead…”

I desperately held back my tears and hugged the bouquet.

“This year, we get to watch over the junior managers,” Chinami-chan added.

“The huge amount of data you two gathered is a treasure for the soccer team. I think it will keep being useful.”

When I said this, they shyly glanced at each other. I hope the Misora High School soccer team, which is always the runner-up, can achieve victory somewhere next year. Everyone tries so hard after all.

“Oh right, although we haven’t decided on schools yet, Kashiwagi-san and I want to support athletes if we can.”

“Huh. Are you going to sports-related universities? Oh, Chinami-chan, you like collecting data, so something related to that field?”

They both nodded. Come to think of it, Ai-chan aspired to be a trainer too. That was the deciding factor for her current university.

“Aside from English, I want to study Spanish too. There are so many cool players in the Premier League and La Liga. I’d love to meet them.”

Seto-kun pointed at Chinami-chan with a “that’s so like you” face as she talked dreamily. It’s unbelievable they’re not dating. That sudden thought made me say,

“Oh, hey Chinami-chan?”

“Yes?”

She looked at me curiously.

“Not many people major in Spanish as a second foreign language in university, right?”

“Well, German, Chinese, and French are more common, but it’s not like there’s no Spanish at all… Why do you ask suddenly, Harukaze-senpai?”

Before Chinami-chan could respond, Seto-kun answered me, then she added,

“Because your friends have French connections, so you think it’s better to choose French?”

“That was my original plan. But Kotake told me to choose Spanish.”

“……”

They both fell silent.

“I thought maybe the coach of the club Kotake joined was Spanish, but…”

I checked the club’s website, but it turned out the coach was Japanese. He had played in Spain for a brief period but then became a commentator and later managed a J2 team after retiring.

“Senpai… could that be…”

Just as Chinami-chan started to speak, the chime signaling the end of the lunch break rang.

“Oh, um… there’s a chance the U-23 Olympic team coach could be Spanish! We’ll look into it before the day after tomorrow, right, Kashiwagi-san?”

Seto-kun spoke quickly, glancing at Chinami-chan’s face and patting her lightly on the shoulder.

“Huh? Oh, right. Sorry about that. I wanted to talk to you more, but there’s still class…” Chinami-chan said.

“Harukaze-senpai, we’ll head back to class. See you again at the graduation ceremony, the whole soccer team will come to see you off,” Seto-kun added.

“Oh… yeah. See you the day after tomorrow…”

We locked the club room door and parted ways with a handshake. Something didn’t sit right with me. Chinami-chan seemed like she wanted to say something, but Seto-kun had cut her short.

“Hmmm, I thought asking them directly would solve this immediately,” I muttered to myself.

I watched them jogging back to the school building, then left the soccer team club room by myself.



When I arrived at MAHO-do, everyone was already there. This month is the last for MAHO-do as a sweets store. After graduating from high school, Momo-chan will continue her training in sweets and French at “Eugene” until she goes to study at a famous pastry school in France in the fall. Ruri-san, the wife of the patissier at “Eugene”, Ikoma Arihito-san, is due to have a baby soon, so I was asked to baby-sit and help out in their store part-time.

MAHO-do will return to selling magical goods and miscellaneous items, with Hana-chan working there along with Majorika, Lala, and Dodo and the others, so I’m planning to work part-time here too. Studying for exams is still the top priority of course.

Ai-chan, who was helping Momo-chan and Hana-chan make sweets, said to me,

“Oh, Doremi-chan, you’ve got something nice.”

When I told her it was from the junior managers, Momo-chan added,

“Pretty bouquet! You’ve got good juniors, Doremi-chan. Best to put it somewhere cool.”

Since it’s warm around the oven, I placed it by the door. That way I won’t forget to take it home. After I put down the bouquet and returned, Hana-chan said,

“Doremi, Kudo-chan is here in the store! Shinshuu-kun was here earlier too.”

With the closing of MAHO-do and our graduation nearing, it’s mostly our friends and regular customers now. I changed into my patissiere outfit and went into the lobby. I’ll have to say goodbye to this outfit soon.

“Doremi-chan, done with your errands?”

Hazuki-chan, who was talking with Kudo Mutsumi-chan, called out to me.

“Yup. Got flowers from Chinami-chan and Seto-kun as a graduation gift. Oh, Mutsumi-chan, long time no see! Congrats on getting accepted.”

Since Mutsumi-chan got in by recommendation, we didn’t meet at Tsukasa-san’s study sessions anymore. It might have been since the time with Hasebe-kun.

“…Thanks. Doremi-chan, it’s unfortunate for you, huh? Are you aiming for the same university again next year?”

She had a somewhat apologetic look, so I said,

“I’m sorry for making you worry. I was late in figuring out what I wanted to do, and I aimed for a university beyond my academic level. Can’t blame anyone but myself. I’ll try my best for one more year. After the graduation ceremony, I have to start studying seriously. I plan to aim for national or public universities too, but I’m afraid of setting too big of a goal and repeating this year’s mistakes.”

Even though I tried to brush it off with a laugh, Mutsumi-chan’s expression remained unchanged.

“If anything, you’re the one looking down, Mutsumi-chan.”

In a fading voice, she muttered,

“I envied you all. Everyone has clear goals they’re striving for. It’s like everyone is progressing smoothly and steadily toward their own goals… Meanwhile, I couldn’t find anything for myself…”

Hazuki-chan and I exchanged confused looks. I felt more pathetic than envious when I saw everyone working hard right in front of me. But it did help me realize my lack of effort.

“That doesn’t matter! I’m me, everyone’s their own self. And you’re you, Mutsumi-chan. Right?”

After I desperately tried to comfort her, Hazuki-chan also did the same,

“Mutsumi-chan, you’ve been working hard in the wrestling team, and your athleticism makes you a vital part of the cheerleading society too. You need more confidence! And Hasebe-kun confessed to you…”

“That’s right. You have a boyfriend, so you have nothing to worry about! You must be happy. You’ll run the store together someday, right?”

When I asked, Mutsumi-chan hesitated and replied,

“The university I’m going to has nothing to do with Hasebe-kun’s family business. I still haven’t decided what I want to be in the future… I can get qualifications at university, but I don’t even know if I want to work in those fields…”

I remembered what Tsukasa-san had told me before. University is four years of meeting and being influenced by all kinds of people. Students really do come from all over Japan after all.

So I thought it might open new doors for Mutsumi-chan too. Even Hasebe-kun might be concerned if she used university to explore different interests apart from him.

“Leave Hasebe-kun aside for now and think about it during university life. That’s what Tsukasa-san said. There might be new interests and discoveries.”

“Doremi-chan, even if your boyfriend becomes a professional soccer player, you have your own goals and you’re going to university for that. But I didn’t have something like that in mind when picking a university I could get into…”

The usually bright and powerful Mutsumi-chan looked like a lost child. She seemed to be on the verge of tears. Hazuki-chan told her in a gentle voice,

“I chose the violin because it was what I wanted to do most back then. Becoming a professional was just a dream. But thinking about the future, I’m full of uncertainty too. Momo-chan, Ai-chan, Hana-chan and even Onpu-chan, we’re all alike. We’re not special.”

Hazuki-chan turned towards me and said,

“Rather than us, consulting someone more experienced may be good. He can decisively cut through your confusion. Right, Doremi-chan?”

She winked. Mutsumi-chan perked up as if realizing something.

“…I should let Tsukasa-san know I got accepted. I owe so much to him.”

“Let’s go together next time, Mutsumi-chan. After Itoko-chan’s acceptance is confirmed, okay?”

Mutsumi-chan nodded. I could use some of his tough advice too. And some harsh truths. Seeing her face brighten up a little, we saw Mutsumi-chan off with relief.



While closing the store and preparing for tomorrow, I told everyone about Mutsumi-chan.

Ai-chan said,

“I thought Mutsumi-chan and Hasebe-kun were all lovey-dovey, like it was the springtime of their lives, but everyone has worries.”

Hazuki-chan nodded and added,

“Apparently Hasebe-kun can’t help worrying about Mutsumi-chan becoming a university girl. Her mother was giggling about it, Papa said.”

“The university girl brand, huh? Doremi-chan, you used to admire being a university student too.”

Ai-chan laughed and nudged me with her elbow.

“It’s because Kudo-chan hasn’t clearly stated she’ll help out at Hasebe-kun’s store in the future, right? But seriously, Hasebe-kun is possessive, or rather, narrow-minded, isn’t he?”

“Narrow-minded… Hana-chan sure knows some big words now.”

Ai-chan said with an exasperated expression, and Momo-chan gave a wry smile and added,

“Speaking of which, Shinshuu-kun came for the MAHO-do sweets farewell too. He said he’ll eat up all the sweets in his four years of university.”

Huh? Didn’t Shinshuu-kun already visit the store recently for a similar purpose? When I tilted my head quizzically, Momo-chan nodded and continued,

“Maybe he still has two or three more farewells to go.”

“Will he quit sweets after graduating from university? He’s inheriting the temple from his father, so he’ll be a reverend right? Even without MAHO-do’s sweets, ‘Eugene’ will still be around locally, and Momo-chan will be working there until fall, right?”

When I asked, Hazuki-chan replied,

“That’s right, there’s harsh ascetic training after graduating from university.”

“Oh yeah, I think I heard before. He has to get up super early. And he can’t eat meat. No way he can have sweets! For me who lives by the motto ‘no meat, no life’, it’s absolutely impossible!”

When I said this, Hana-chan, who had been nodding her head knowingly, smirked and said,

“There’s something harsher than giving up sweets. Going bald!”

“Huh, what’s that?”

None of us but Hana-chan realized. Come to think of it, monks have shaved bald heads. I see, it doesn’t start out that way.

“So that’s why Shinshuu-kun has a buzzcut, to soften the shock.”

Momo-chan said and nodded with an understanding expression. Is that so…?

“Shouldn’t he try long hair or something first in university?”

Ai-chan said, and we all cracked up imagining it.

“Oh, by the way, Taniyama-kun became a 4-dan and joined the ranks of professional shogi players, but apparently he had a terrible record in the first term. Yamauchi-kun mentioned it,” Hazuki-chan said.

Taniyama-kun, who had been aspiring to become a professional shogi player since middle school, finally achieved his goal last year by becoming a 4-dan player. But that’s the start line, not the goal. According to Hazuki-chan, 4-dan is the lowest C-class among professional shogi players. Even if one progresses smoothly, it can take several years to reach A-class. It appears to be a daunting challenge due to the abundance of rivals in the field.

“He said he’d work hard for the C-class matches starting in April after graduation. I don’t understand the rules very well, but the professional world must be tough,” Ai-chan added.

Like Ai-chan, the rules elude me no matter how many times I hear them explained, so I can’t just casually say “Do your best!”



After that, talk continued about our other friends’ future paths.

Tamaki Reika is going on to the university division of Karen Girls’ Academy. It’s escalator style, so there’s no entrance exam, but she’ll be in the International Communications course.

“Shouldn’t something like economics be better then?”

Momo-chan asked Hazuki-chan, who replied,

“She said language skills and knowing global affairs are more important. She wants to expand her father’s company.”

“I bet she’ll build that heliport and escalate the relationship!”

Hana-chan still seems concerned about Tamaki’s love life. According to Tamaki herself, they’re still steady.

Even though Momo-chan says that her boyfriend didn’t give in to Tamaki’s forcefulness, we don’t hear any stories of them breaking up or fighting, so their relationship seems to be going well as Tamaki says. We all feel she just might build that heliport.

By the way, her 2-years-older boyfriend is going to start attending the Yamagata campus in earnest this spring. Even as a vet, he doesn’t seem like a city pet doctor. Long-distance romance between Tokyo and rural Yamagata, huh.

Shidou Yuuna-chan, who became my friend after entering high school, took the entrance exam for the engineering department of a highly competitive national university. Just like Hana-chan, the results haven’t come out yet. Miyamae Sora-kun, who flew a homemade plane in elementary school and was in the science club all through high school, got into a private engineering university. He really wants to build robots, after all.

Niwa Hinako-san was promptly accepted into a beauty school through recommendation, and her part-time job as a reader model is going very smoothly too. Meanwhile, Okuyama Naomi-chan, a tall girl who was recommended by Niwa-san to do some male modeling, advanced to a junior college for fashion design. It’s hard to imagine from our elementary school days, but she said she finally found what she wants to do.

Noticing something, Hazuki-chan turned to me and asked,

“Speaking of which, Kimura-kun belongs to the same J-League club as Kotake-kun, correct?”

“Yeah. Kimura-kun has national team experience too. Their positions differ but he’s a step ahead of Kotake right now I think.”

Kimura-kun has had strong overseas ambitions since he was in the club’s youth academy. I hope they can score lots of goals together in the J-League. Ai-chan also asked me,

“There are many Japanese players playing in Germany. Is Kimura-kun planning to go there too?”

Not knowing how to reply, I said,

“Beats me. Kotake hasn’t mentioned anything… Oh yeah, that reminds me.”

I told everyone about the topic Chinami-chan and Seto-kun dodged.

“Kotake told me to study Spanish in university but…”

“What?”

Everyone looked at me in surprise.

“Seto-kun said maybe the Olympic team coach is Spanish? Those two hurried back to class, dodging the subject.”

“……”

We were all silent for a moment.

“Doremi-chan… Isn’t that like a proposal?”

For some reason, Ai-chan lowered her voice. Ehhhh? Why is everyone nodding?

“But Kotake hasn’t even played in the J-League yet… Going abroad is a totally distant idea… And I’m taking a gap year now… I want to become an elementary school teacher after graduation…”

“……”

Another period of silence passed. Hey everyone, why aren’t you saying anything~~?

“So it’s like he’s already put you on hold for the future. Looks like you’ve got an actual relationship in the real world.”

“Yeah yeah. Telling you not to forget him even if you go to university.”

“Come to think of it, someone said Kotake’s playing style is more like Spain or Italy than Germany. Oh, he was aiming for Spain, huh?”

Momo-chan, Hana-chan, and Ai-chan looked at me intently before murmuring.

“Kotake-kun going overseas is still a ways off, but he’s definitely set on Spain. By then, he means for you to come along too. That’s what it’s about, right?”

Hazuki-chan explained it to me again amidst my confusion.

“Ehhhhh?”

Of course, there are many players in the Spanish league who are also in the spotlight in Japan, and I find the matches interesting to watch. But I haven’t considered that far into the future at all! For now, I want to focus completely on next year’s exams.

Ignoring my turmoil, Ai-chan asked,

“So, what was your reply?”

With everyone’s attention focused on me, I found it hard to answer.

“…Me? I said I plan to take French…”

“……”

The mood became like the punchline for a bad joke. Hazuki-chan lightly sighed.

“Knowing you failed, Kotake-kun wants you to focus on next year’s exams. He hopes you’ll achieve your dream of becoming an elementary school teacher, and he also has dreams of becoming a regular in the J-League and making it into the national team. That’s why he intentionally brought up a future topic.”

She explained again.

Yeah, it would have been better if Kotake had just told me that upfront.

“They’ve been together so long yet Kotake doesn’t get Doremi is dense?”

“He really needs to learn. With Doremi-chan’s airheadedness, only a direct approach works.”

I didn’t want to be called an airhead only by Hana-chan and Momo-chan!

“Well, being indirect is just Kotake’s way. But those junior managers sure had a tough time deciphering his hidden message.”

Ai-chan mediated.

“No change even after all this time in their relationship.”

As Hazuki-chan giggled, even Majorika and the others couldn’t hold back their laughter.



And so, graduation day arrived.

Even though it was just like the rehearsal, I was nervous walking down the aisle with my junior classmates lined up on either side to get to my class seat. The ceremony proceeded steadily, but some students burst into tears when Yamaki-sensei, also known as Leon, called out their names, or when the farewell speech and graduation response started, or when the accompaniment for the school song began. I also got caught up in it and teared up.

By the time we returned to our classroom, my tears had stopped, but when Leon came around to personally hand out diplomas while saying a few words to each of us, I started crying again before it was my turn.

After giving diplomas to everyone, Leon took a sweeping look around and said,

“Unlike middle school and below, even public high schools have students commuting from a wide range of areas. There are many classmates who will never return to their hometowns after university or employment. We may only be able to meet in the distant future, to the point where we forget their faces, or in the worst case, never meet again.”

Wondering what he was getting at, as we listened intently, Leon paused briefly and continued,

“You will all meet many people from here on, and some you won’t get along with. But think of every encounter as a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and treasure that time spent.”

Once-in-a-lifetime encounters, huh? Those are wise words. I wondered if I had truly faced every person I’ve met. Whether childhood friends, friends I would meet in the future, acquaintances, or even those with whom I just crossed paths. If I thought of those encounters as unique and irreplaceable, I would cherish them all.

Perhaps out of embarrassment or maybe on the verge of tears, Leon started speaking faster and faster,

“My final words. Congratulations on your graduation, everyone. I’m truly glad to have seen you all off intact. Keep being true to yourselves and do your best going forward. Well then!”

He briskly shut the classroom door and left. My classmates were also taken aback, but maybe they thought that was just like Leon, as they had teary smiles.

Reluctantly, we left the classroom and headed towards the school gate through the entrance and exit. Ai-chan was surrounded by her junior female classmates and the track and field team members. Hana-chan and the others who are waiting for their exam results were also gathered. They must be anxious. Momo-chan was surrounded by boys. She was popular after all, though I didn’t notice since she was always busy leaving.

“Doremi-senpaaaaai!”

From a group of only boys from the soccer team, I heard a voice and saw a hand waving. I immediately recognized Chinami-chan’s voice. It was a bit awkward with Kotake there too, but the gathered members were more interested in exchanging intel between those joining professional or rival clubs, and the preliminary round of the prefectural tournament starting soon after the new term begins, rather than me and Kotake.

Some members will continue playing soccer in university rather than in the J-League, and some will quit after high school. I hope everyone does their best! I want Kotake’s club to win the championship of course. And for him to be the top scorer!

I went over to Chinami-chan and Seto-kun.

“Chinami-chan, thanks again for the flowers the day before yesterday. They’re decorating my room now.”

I’m glad I was able to properly thank her. Chinami-chan suddenly dashed over to me and said,

“Senpai… thank you so much for everything.”

She clung tightly to me. Caught off guard by her momentum, I was about to fall over when Seto-kun supported me.

“Sorry about that. Got overexcited… Congratulations on your graduation… Doremi-senpai!”

Chinami-chan hurriedly let go and bowed deeply. Seto-kun also came to my side and added,

“Senpai, congratulations on your graduation. We’ll keep improving the soccer team.”

I shook Seto-kun’s hand and replied,

“I’m counting on you two. You’ll take the championship this time for sure.”

They both nodded firmly. I nodded over and over too. Instead of words, tears welled up naturally in my eyes.

“We should get back to everyone, right?”

I said and pushed them to join the circle of members.

I remember the names and faces of all the members and juniors who worked hard together for three years. Some like Midorimachi-kun, also known as Midorin, who retired from club activities and is now waiting for exam results, were also there. There were many difficulties, practices were rigorous, and we were runner-up at the end again, but all of that is a good memory now. Even though there was so much more we could talk about, Kotake finally suggested we form the pre-match huddle together one last time. Following the lead of the new captain, Kubo-kun, we all shouted a cheer in unison and then dispersed.

img 



After waving to Chinami-chan and leaving through the school gate, Kotake, who had gone out earlier, was waiting for me.

“Here, take this.”

He shoved his clenched fist at me.

“Huh? What is it?”

As I was fumbling around and not knowing what was going on, Kotake grabbed my hand and opened his fist.

“A… button?”

I saw Kotake’s uniform was in tatters, missing all its buttons, including the cuff links. That reminds me, his tie was gone too.

“It’s my second button. I’m giving it to you.”

He said this quickly, then maybe embarrassed, looked away and dashed off.

“Eh… huh?”

I stared alternately at the button in my palm and Kotake’s retreating figure.

“…Geez Kotake… That’s the second button on our uniform jacket. But there are only three buttons on our jacket, so it’s not that meaningful1…”

Feeling somehow happy and embarrassed, I stared at the ground with a face that must have turned bright red. As students came through the school gate, I shoved the button in my bag and walked briskly. Yes, toward MAHO-do.



Laughter echoed from inside MAHO-do. I gently opened the back door, and…

“Oh, it’s Doremiii! Onpu-chan’s here too!”

Hana-chan’s loud voice greeted me.

“Doremi-chan, long time no see.”

“Onpu-chaaan!”

I kicked off my shoes and ran to Onpu-chan. I was relieved that she seemed like her usual self.

“Sorry about that. For worrying everyone. And disturbing you before your exams…”

“No no, failing the exams was my lack of academic skills.”

I interrupted Onpu-chan’s apologetic words. I’ve said many times it’s not your fault at all!

Hazuki-chan, whose graduation ceremony was yesterday, had come to MAHO-do in the morning, she smoothly changed the subject by saying,

“Onpu-chan arrived about an hour ago. I was surprised since she didn’t contact us first.”

Looking at Hazuki-chan, Onpu-chan spoke,

“I heard all kinds of things from everyone. Like your future paths, and about Doremi-chan and Kotake-kun.”

Then she turned her attention back to me. Uhh, that’s Onpu-chan’s wonderful smile! If Ai-chan or Momo-chan had explained things instead of Hazuki-chan, I bet they would have made it much more entertaining.

When Ai-chan asked,

“Onpu-chan, when are you leaving Japan?”

Onpu-chan replied with a disappointed look on her face,

“I still have things to do there, so I can only stay until the afternoon of the day after tomorrow.”

“Hey, hey, why don’t we all stay over at MAHO-do after such a long time and have a nice chat?”

Momo-chan suggested. We all agreed, but Onpu-chan shook her head with a smile.

“I’m sorry.”

“That’s alright, don’t worry about it. You must have a lot of things to take care of.”

Hazuki-chan said cheerfully, and Onpu-chan spoke decisively,

“I’m sorry… I finally realized how much trouble I caused everyone with what I did. About magic and work…”

As I started to say,

“But that’s…” she continued,

“I felt like the tragic heroine of my own story. I don’t regret my actions of course.”

We cooperated because we completely empathized with Onpu-chan’s feelings. And I think it’s only natural to want to use magic in her situation, but Onpu-chan was composed.

“…For the first time, I understood Dad was suffering far more than me.”

She stated this quietly but firmly.

It’s not just sad when someone leaves this world, there are so many things that need to be done, she said. After Onpu-chan left Japan, her father did all of them calmly while working alone.

“So, I decided to absolutely succeed for Dad who allowed me to go to America. And spend a lot of time with him when I returned to Japan.”

“It’s just the two of you family now, of course it’s natural.”

Hazuki-chan said solemnly. Onpu-chan smiled and continued,

“We didn’t talk so much before, but it’s strange. At first, it was to distract from the loneliness, but now we never run out of things to talk about, like Mom, Dad’s work, what I want to do… I was surprised…”

It must have been a gift from her mother. Their family bonds grew strong again.

Onpu-chan smiled cheerfully. Her smile somehow looked very mature. And it seemed cheerful and refreshed. I’m truly glad her mother, father, and Onpu-chan herself were able to spend time together without regrets.

We kept waving until Onpu-chan’s figure disappeared from view.



Then, the half-month until MAHO-do’s closing was hectic. Hana-chan and the other national university applicants who safely got accepted started preparing for their enrollment. Ai-chan moved to a dormitory in Saitama and started training at the university even before starting school.

Momo-chan, in the midst of coordinating with Ikoma-san from “Eugene” for her part-time job, dedicated herself fully to making sweets until the very last day. Hazuki-chan, in addition to studying French for her upcoming university admission in the fall, also had a concert scheduled, so she had to add interviews and practice to her schedule.

I became an exam retaker again, and got scolded strictly by Tsukasa-san soon after Itoko-chan passed. After the store is renovated, I’ll be continuing my part-time job at MAHO-do selling magical goods, and baby-sitting from April too. Ikoma-san’s wife Ruri-san gave birth to a baby girl at the end of March. He was smitten with her before she was even born.

March was a busy and hectic month for all of us. MAHO-do was always crowded, and every day I was filled with gratitude that we’d been loved by so many people, even for a short time.



We decided the last day of MAHO-do would be the final Sunday.

Why? Because the day before that was the night of the smiling moon, the day when the door connecting to the witch world opened. Yes, we decided to graduate from being witch apprentices too.

When Onpu-chan lost her qualification as a witch apprentice, we felt that we lost ours too. This was the promise we made with the Queen when we became witch apprentices three years ago.

In reality, we still had our Parara Tap, and we could still use magic…

However, we seriously discussed it and decided to quit being witch apprentices.

We had no plans to defend our decision. We simply felt we should properly greet the Queen.

We have no opposing enemies now, and the Queen said Hana-chan’s sister Yume-chan whom we worried about is living a settled life too. We all felt it was time to return this power to the Queen.

img 

We waited until nightfall. When the night fell, we left through the back door of MAHO-do. Instead of a courtyard, there was a path leading to the witch world that stretched far into the distance.

Like when we became witch apprentices three years ago while searching for Onpu-chan, who had gone missing and was unresponsive, we headed to the Queen’s castle without using our magic broomsticks.

The four of us: me, Hazuki-chan, Ai-chan, Momo-chan, plus Hana-chan, Majorika, Lala, and Dodo and the others assembled and entered the audience chamber, kneeling before the Queen.

“Your Majesty, we would like to graduate from being witch apprentices now.”

When I said this, the Queen replied,

“Certainly, Onpu-chan has lost her qualification as a witch apprentice. However, I don’t intend to make all of you relinquish your roles as witch apprentices.”

The Queen spoke gently to us.

“No, Your Majesty.”

Hazuki-chan stepped forward and said,

“We believe it’s time to forge our own paths without relying on magical powers.”

Ai-chan followed,

“Even if we want to help someone someday, I think we should consider what we can do with our own strength.”

Momo-chan added,

“It’s what everyone does normally. I will do so too.”

When the Queen saw Hana-chan, who remained silent with a sad expression, she said,

“Hana-chan is still immature. You may need to use your magical power.”

“No, Hana-chan has grown.”

I asserted confidently, interrupting the Queen. Hazuki-chan continued,

“Just like how we decided to work hard using our own power, I believe Hana-chan can also strive in the human world without using great magic.”

Ai-chan and Momo-chan both nodded and added,

“Well, Hana-chan’s power exceeds what our magic can do combined anyway.”

“That’s right! We’ll ask Majorika and Your Majesty for help if needed!”

The Queen smiled gently. She must have seen through our intentions completely.

“I understand. You have all grown in these three years. I feel reassured. Please continue looking after Hana-chan.”

She spoke kindly, and we sighed with relief while nodding firmly.

We bid farewell to the Queen and left the witch world.

This time Hana-chan led the way, and we followed. Hana-chan’s back was no longer that of a small child. I’m certain Hana-chan will become a wonderful Queen.

As we walked down the long path and returned to the courtyard of MAHO-do, the soft light from MAHO-do was visible. We all felt a sense of relief.



But the closing day finally arrived.

Momo-chan handed the last sweets to a customer.

“Thank you for everything.”

We all bowed deeply. We kept bowing until the door shut and the customer was out of sight.

“Momo-chan.”

When I said this, Momo-chan nodded, and brought the MAHO-do sign inside. Onpu-chan came towards the counter and said,

“I rarely got to stand in front of here, but it’s a truly lovely store. Momo-chan, thank you for everything.”

Her voice became a little tearful towards the end. In response, Ai-chan and the others looked on the verge of tears too.

“Momo-chan, you did really well.”

“Momoko, come make delicious sweets at my home sometimes too!”

“Sorry I couldn’t help out much. Stay friends in Paris too, okay?”

Ai-chan, Hana-chan, and Hazuki-chan surrounded Momo-chan. That’s right, this place was Momo-chan’s starting point and an important store that guided her to the next step.

“Momo-chan, let’s keep working hard together at ‘Eugene’. I’m aiming for university, and you’re aiming to be a patissiere. It’s a competition,” I said.

“…Thank you, everyone. I’m so… so happy to hear you say that.”

Tears brimmed in Momo-chan’s large eyes and spilled down her cheeks. Your face might have become a mess, but it was a wonderful smile, Momo-chan.



We quickly tidied up the interior of the store and went outside together. Momo-chan baked apple pies and handed them to us.

MAHO-do was sparkling as usual, but…

“Okay, let’s go. Countdown starts!”

With Hana-chan’s signal, we all began,

“Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, five, four…”

Our voices, once synchronized, grew quieter.

“Three, two, one… zero!”

We all shouted loudly together at the end.

When Hana-chan snapped her fingers, all the neon lights of MAHO-do went out. We quietly watched over it. There were various emotions, like sadness and a sense of loss, but no words came out. A few tears were shed.

“It’s a new beginning, everyone.”

But Hana-chan turned to us and spoke brightly, then she continued,

“Well, technically, we could renovate it right away.”

That dampened the mood a bit. No wonder, with Hana-chan’s magic, the store could be transformed into a magical goods store in an instant, but let’s leave it at that, okay?



“Alright, Hana and everyone will return to the witch world until the school entrance ceremony.”

Hana-chan said and snapped her fingers again. MAHO-do became covered in sheets like a construction site. Hana-chan had said she wanted to report to the Queen herself, and Majorika said,

“Then we’ll go back to the witch world for a while too.”

Lala nodded and added,

“That’s right. We haven’t seen anyone except for Dela recently.”

With how busy we got, Majorika, Lala, and Dodo and the others rarely returned to the witch world.

“A homecoming after so long huh. Relax and take your time.”

When I said this, Majorika replied with a cough,

“Not having to worry about you all will ease my mind. Well, we do have the new store preparations too. Can’t relax too much either.”

She seems to have gotten quite used to life in Misora after all. And she can check on Yume-chan from the Queen’s side too. I bet there will be lots of stories when she returns!

“Then I’ll also return to New York on tomorrow’s flight. Thanks for the pie, Momo-chan. I’ll eat it with Dad.”

Onpu-chan waved to us as her father’s car arrived to pick her up.

“See yaa, Onpuu! I’ll come visit and play next time!”

Hana-chan yelled loudly. Onpu-chan responded by waving back from the passenger window.

“I should get going too.”

“With all the train transfers, it’ll be rough for you, Ai-chan.”

It was already pitch dark, and Hazuki-chan expressed her concern. Ai-chan smiled and replied,

“No worries! Dad said he’ll drive me.”

Next time we meet will be at the track and field stadium, huh? Something to look forward to!

“Papa and Mama are also waiting for the fresh pie I baked today! Well then, see you!”

Next, Momo-chan waved cheerfully with a bright voice. Even though MAHO-do is over, strict training begins for you next month, Momo-chan!

“I should head home soon too. Doremi-chan, would you like to walk home together for a while?”

Hazuki-chan looked at Hana-chan and me alternately as she spoke.

“We’ll see each other again right away after all. Right, Hana-chan, Doremi-chan?” she continued.

“That’s right, this isn’t the time to get sentimental, especially you Doremi.”

“Quite rude of you to say, Hana-chan!”

“Starting next month, Hana will be tutoring you at home too, Doremi. Expect me to tutor you rigorously like Tsukasa-san!”

Hana-chan’s eyes seemed to glint brightly in the darkness. I grabbed Hazuki-chan’s arm. Or rather, Hazuki-chan, who is afraid of the dark, clung to me instead.

“Let’s walk back together, right Hazuki-chan?”

I might not be a reliable knight, but still. Waving to Hana-chan, Majorika, and Lala, Hazuki-chan and I set off. Soon, Hazuki-chan clutched my arm tightly and looked back, saying,

“…I knew MAHO-do was quite spacious, but I didn’t realize it would feel so lonely with the lights out… We were always seen off by the store’s lights.”

I also looked at MAHO-do, which was already covered in sheets. Whether Hana-chan and the others were still there or had left for the witch world, I couldn’t tell in the darkness.

“You’re right. It was a warm light.”

“The new MAHO-do will surely be sparkling, Doremi-chan.”

“Yeah, you’re right.”

Feeling deeply sentimental about that, Hazuki-chan and I slowly walked in the opposite direction from MAHO-do. Carrying the still faintly warm box of apple pie Momo-chan had baked for us.



High school might have ended, but our story is far from over. I might study hard for the exams and get into a national university… Hazuki-chan might gain acclaim even in France… Ai-chan might suddenly break the 10,000 meter record… Onpu-chan might become the lead in a Broadway musical… Momo-chan might win a competition in Paris… Hana-chan might be top of the class even at the University of Tokyo…

Such a future…

Just kidding. We really don’t know what lies ahead. But I believe everyone will keep striving to be true to themselves. Even if we’re far apart, Misora City is everyone’s hometown. I think we’ll keep meeting, parting, and meeting again here repeatedly.

The future me is certainly not “the most miserable pretty girl in the world”, but rather “the happiest beauty in the world”, don’t you think? That’s what I believe!

Comments:

Click here to leave comments on GitLab.

shinsya

minna ganbatte ne





  1. On a typical uniform jacket with 5 buttons, the “second button” would be closer to the heart and therefore more symbolic when given to a girl. In this case, with only 3 buttons, the “second button” isn’t in that special position.