───How did you feel when you heard the story about the members of “Ojamajo Doremi” appearing at the age of 16?

I first heard about it from Nee-chan (Doremi role: Chiba Chiemi).

I was surprised and thought, “Ah! They’re 16!” The TV series ended when they started middle school, so I was shocked that they were skipping over middle school and starting in high school. And that it would be a novel and not an anime was a double shock.

I’m a huge fan of the series myself, so I was thrilled but also nervous going to the bookstore. But they didn’t have it in stock (laughs). I went all the way to Shibuya and checked three big bookstores before finding it.



───What were your impressions after reading it?

Nee-chan was the same as always (laughs). Every line from Doremi played back in my head in Chiba-san’s voice… I imagined all the characters in their respective voices as I read.



───Can you tell me more about that?

Pop, who was so little, is right in the middle of puberty (laughs). In my mind the anime ended where it did, so I had a really complicated feeling, happy they had grown up but a little lonely they had gone so far away. Their fundamental personalities and mindsets might be the same, but they have clearly matured. They grew up while I wasn’t looking! I felt happiness and loneliness about that (laughs). Doremi was just a bigger version of herself, but I got the impression Pop had suddenly become very mature. Even in conversations with family, they weren’t treated as kids, and there was a back-and-forth of words, which surprised me with how much they’ve grown.



───If you were to voice act for a drama CD, how would you approach it?

I think the acting would change. Instead of the voice from back then, I’d want to adjust it to fit the middle school age. I’m perfectly imagining it now so I can perform anytime (laughs)!



───What was the audition for the TV series like?

When I got the offer, it was actually the second round of auditions. The first had already finished, but for some reason they hadn’t found the right person, so they were auditioning again. The notice that came to my agency had something like “For those who you’d think wouldn’t fit, please apply!” written on it (laughs). So, this is a strange story, but I received the opportunity from my agency and auditioned for the role of Doremi.



───Not for the role of Pop?

It came down to Chiba Chiemi and me in the final audition. There I was told, “Try acting as Doremi’s younger sister,” and after Chiba Chiemi and I did a voiced interaction as Doremi and Pop, the people in the recording booth had big smiles on their faces… I figured if I were to get it, it would be in this form.



───What kind of voice work did you do before that?

At the time I was with an agency and mainly did singing. So this was pretty much my first time with acting-type work. I was incredibly nervous and stiff during the first episode… I thought it wasn’t going well, so I consulted with the director in the second episode.

It just so happened that director Sato Junichi came to the recording early that day. Before the recording started, I asked, “I don’t know why I was chosen. Can you teach me how I should act going forward?” And Director Sato kindly told me, “Don’t worry at all. Just act naturally as Ishige-san.” After that I relaxed. It was such a fun set. I don’t think there’s been a workplace where we all laughed together so much. Even now when I remember that set, I can only recall everyone’s smiling faces.



───Do you have any memorable episodes from recording the anime?

There are way too many (laughs). At the end of the final episode when the ending song “Watashi no Tsubasa” was playing, the recording studio was also in tears… Everyone’s eyes were bright red from crying. Then Shishido Rumi-san said, “If everyone’s crying, there won’t be tears left for later,” and she said it in Onpu-chan’s voice. It was as if Onpu-chan herself was there. For this series, the roles really “descended” onto the voice actors, or I should say, the synchronization between the voice actors and their characters was incredibly high.



───In contrast, I heard from Umakoshi-san and the others that it was Miyahara-san who created Momo-chan’s character. Changing the topic to questions related to this work, what were you like at 16 years old?

It was the age when I started becoming aware of voice “acting” work. I loved to sing and was in the broadcast club at school where we played music, but in the spaces between the songs I found the “talking” parts very appealing… After high school, I immediately joined an entertainment agency.



───And after that, you met “Doremi”?

Yes. It was the work that changed my life. On that set I was able to work not only with voice actors, but also various people from different worlds like comedians and actors. I learned a lot from these diverse actors who were skilled in variety. It’s been 15 years since the series ended but even now I often meet young people who say, “I loved ‘Ojamajo’ so much!” And recently a friend’s acquaintance asked me to record a congratulatory message as Pop for their wedding… It’s a work that connects people.

But Chiba Chiemi’s presence really is huge. Without Chiba-san, there would be no Pop. They knew me as a complete beginner, so I can relax and be myself without worrying about meeting some professional standard. It’s a workplace that pampers me like family. Especially with Chiba Chiemi, I’m spoiled by her (laughs).



───Thank you very much. Finally, please share a message for the readers.

I’m truly grateful to everyone who has loved this series over the years. Even though “magic” is an unreal existence, everyone appearing here gets worried, angry, laughs - they feel very real. I think it’s because of the “empathy” with the viewers that it’s been so cherished. Being involved with such a work is a huge asset to me, and I hope I can continue accompanying it from now on.

“♪Pipitto puritto puritan peperuto, may you all always have smiles♪”

Comments: