Finally, the rival store had opened up was being featured on TV and magazines, and while it might be an exaggeration to say it was as popular as an idol concert, the area around MAHO-do was bustling. The name of the store was “Eugene”, the same as the main store, but it was referred to as the Misora branch. I wonder if this store will become the main store in the future.

The owner, Ikoma Arihito-san, is a famous patissier who creates artistic sweets. The Misora store is run by his wife’s younger brother, Shimizu Ran-san, who mainly makes the sweets. Ran-san is only 25 years old and was trained as a patissier in France and Belgium. The sweets he makes are very artistic, with a mature feeling.

Ikoma-san’s wife, Shimizu Ruri-san, a former idol who had not appeared in public before, was also interviewed. Above all, Ikoma-san is a cheerful and enjoyable person. His wife gives off a gentle big sister vibe, and Momo-chan gets along well with Ran-san. Those of us who saw them as rivals were a little disappointed.

Ruri-san’s younger brother, Ran-san, is not very talkative and has more of a craftsman-like personality. Ikoma-san seems to trust him so much that he has said he wants to entrust the shop to him in the future.

Ran-san’s specialty is chocolat, or chocolate, and his chocolate is so much more delicious than other sweets, and has further fueled Momo-chan’s desire to train in Paris.

“Japanese sweets are very beautiful and delicious, but I still think it’s necessary to go to the home country and train. I need to study French too.”

That was what she thought as she walked around Paris eating sweets while searching for Hana-chan. It’s important to go to the home country and experience it through the perspective of daily life, from famous shops to sweet shops that have been around for a long time in town, or even a Western-style confectionery shop that you never get tired of eating that feels like your mother made it. Momo-chan has been saying for a while that she would like to go there if she had the chance.

Momo-chan has been visiting Ran-san every day since the store opened. She told us all kinds of stories, and we could see how much of an impact he has had on her life. I wonder if Ran-san thinks of Momo-chan as a junior because of her enthusiasm and positive attitude. MAHO-do’s sales have dropped a bit, but Ran-san’s sweets are a bit different from Momo-chan’s sweets, more for adults, so I think they will recover once things settle down.

The existence of a rival store is stimulating enough, and Ran-san, Ikoma-san and his wife are nice and cheerful. If I were to compare the sweets at “Eugene” to music, it would be classical. On the other hand, “MAHO-do” has a pop feel to it, so they can coexist. Yes, it’s not all bad.



Anyway, the story goes on, but let’s go back in time a bit and talk about my class.

We all became second-year high school students this spring. Just like during our first year, the students from Misora Elementary and Middle School are the most dominant in our class, but of course there are students from other middle schools as well. There are really a lot of students that I didn’t know during our first year.

I have quite a few friends who were surprised to learn that I became the soccer team manager starting this year.

Just like that, even among my friends who I’ve known since elementary school, and who I thought I knew everything about and talked with often, there are surely unknown aspects to them. I’m sure there will be new discoveries to come. It’s exciting.



As soon as the new semester started, the schedule for the midterm and the mock exam was posted on the bulletin board. It seems like the fun things on the school bulletin board are gradually decreasing, huh? I miss the days of elementary school. Even though I usually want to forget about tests, they come too fast. And on top of that, I feel like I have more than double the work I had last year, and I’m much busier.

They say everyone has equal time, but I wonder if high school students are really that busy. There are always mock exams, club activities, part-time jobs, and so on. I don’t even have time to look at the flowers in my garden these days.

Hmm, something feels off. Even with everything going on with Hana-chan, it’s not like I’m the only one who’s busy. I wonder why I’m the only one without any spare time.

Regarding the fact that I’ve already mentioned becoming classmates with Kotake in a previous conversation, I won’t dwell on it too much. However, there are some students that you simply can’t ignore, or rather, that have an undeniable presence.

I’m going to tell the story from the beginning of the new semester so that I don’t get confused. Especially I’ve met a lot of new people since then and I don’t want to forget who’s who.

I’m thinking of talking about Niwa Hinako-san, who is in my class for the first time. She sits in front of me in the order of her name. Of course, we went to separate elementary and middle schools, so like Shidou Yuuna-chan, who became my friend last year, she is a classmate I met for the first time.

Did you notice that? I call her “san”, which is unusual for me. Yeah, we talk comfortably, but not as much as Hana-chan in the seat behind me. However, she is a little different from the kind of friends I have made in the past. She is different from Yuuna-chan and the junior manager, Chinami-chan. I mean, she is the kind of person you might not meet until you are in high school.

She’s a girl with a glamorous appearance. Not like a rose with thorns, nor a sharp lily, but rather a colorful gerbera? Her eyes are big and cute, but she’s not exceedingly cute or beautiful. She’s taller than me, but her small face doesn’t give off an intimidating impression. She wears twin tails and looks a bit childish, but I also have a similar hairstyle.

However, while I always have the same hairstyle, Niwa-san often changes her hairpins, hair ties, and the height of her twin tails. You could say that she’s fashionable.



As usual, we all gathered at MAHO-do. When everyone was together, we also had to do special training for Dodo and the others. Hana-chan still has a long way to go. And for us too, we’ve only just gotten decent at it, so the road ahead is still long.

“What kind of girl is Niwa-san that Doremi-chan is talking about?”

Hazuki-chan asked, tilting her head because she couldn’t imagine it.

“Hmmm, she feels like ‘fluffy’.”

Hana-chan’s super sensory comment again. I could understand it somehow, but I didn’t know what it meant. Not only Hazuki-chan but also Onpu-chan looked confused.

“That’s right. She’s a little prettier, a little more stylish, a little taller, and more fashionable than Doremi-chan. She’s popular with the boys in our class too,” Ai-chan said.

“Yes, she always wears her long hair in twin tails. She has a cute voice and face. She’s cheerful and very popular with the boys. Yes, she’s an idol type!” Momo-chan said.

Somehow, they keep comparing me with her. And Hazuki-chan seems to be satisfied with it. It’s not fair, Ai-chan. But it’s true. Niwa-san is very popular with the boys. I thought she was the type of Tamaki Reika, but she also has female friends. Well, she’s mostly with the girls in the same group, but if you talk to her, she’s quite normal. Mumbling…

“But, but, Momoko and Aiko are also very popular!”

Hana-chan was right, Momo-chan is also popular with the boys in her class. Ai-chan is popular with both boys and girls because of her boyish side. Oh, wait, I don’t have a place here.

According to Shimakura Kaori-chan, who is also in my class this year, Niwa-san is popular not only at Misora High School, but also with boys from other schools. I guess she has a wide range of activities.

Most of the boys in the class are supposed to have a favorable impression of Niwa-san. The girls have mixed feelings about her, but they think they would lose if they showed their true attitudes. I think the difference between me and her is small, though. Why is she popular? It kind of bothers me.

“I see, so Doremi isn’t the prettiest girl in the world.”

“Being a pretty girl doesn’t necessarily mean you’re popular, Hana-chan.”

The innocent remark stung. Hana-chan’s casual remarks were more powerful than Momo-chan’s. Onpu-chan, a genuine beauty, wasn’t really able to give any helpful advice in this situation, but she still tried to offer some kind of support anyway. Hazuki-chan was also smiling wryly.

I went to kindergarten and elementary school together with my best friends, and I also had many friends who were together with me in middle and high school. So most of my friends are people I’ve known for a long time. Friends I met after entering high school aren’t just simply nice people I can understand easily like friends from childhood. Rather, they are people who leave an impression on me.

“Her seat is in front of you. So you should investigate the secret of her popularity.”

Ai-chan, who had made it through the preliminary round of the block tournament1, had arrived at MAHO-do earlier than me. I’m sure she’ll be chosen as a representative of the prefecture, but I can’t help but feel that she has a lot of time on her hands.

“Anyway, she seems to be getting love confessions all the time. Oh, yes, there’s this.”

I showed everyone the Purikura photo Niwa-san had given me. The photo was of Niwa-san and two of her friends together. They were all cute, but Niwa-san stood out by far in the photo.

“I wonder if she’s wearing a little makeup. I can see why she is so popular. She’s different from Momo-chan too,” Hazuki-chan said.

Momo-chan struck the same pose, but Hazuki-chan twisted her neck.

“The way she poses, her gaze, and her smile are all perfect. She must be used to it. That’s why she looks cuter than the other two,” Ai-chan said.

“I can’t remember right now, but I feel like I’ve seen her somewhere before.”

Onpu-chan said, tilting her head.

“I’ve heard the story of her being scouted before, so maybe she’s with some entertainment agency?”

I thought that was a possibility.

Niwa-san often hangs out with her group of three people, and is said to be scouted frequently. They’re all similar in type to Niwa-san, like pretty or popular. They’re glamorous and stand out a bit even in our class.

She is in the literature club. It’s not exactly what I expected, but I heard that she likes to read. She is good at modern and classical Japanese language.

“Oh, that’s right. After class, she goes to the restroom and fixes her appearance quickly. Moreover, she’s very quick. She also undoes and fixes her hair properly.”

Her twin tails are sometimes slightly curled. She curls her eyelashes too. But it’s not so much that she breaks school rules.

“Isn’t that a small difference that makes her fashionable? We’re already in high school, so it’s not strange to be interested in fashion, makeup, or boys,” Ai-chan suggested.

“On holidays, she puts on some makeup.”

As for me, when school or club activities are over, I have no choice but to either get a part-time job or go straight home. The only time I go to the mirror to fix my hair before leaving school is when it’s really messed up. And I’ve never thought about buying makeup tools.

I’ve never had that type of girl around me before. Tamaki has a fashionable style, but she gives off the impression that it costs a lot of money.



Speaking of people around me, Onpu-chan is naturally beautiful and her acting skills have been highly evaluated since she starred in a musical. She always looks pretty. Well, she has good innate talent to begin with. However, even if she were in my class, she might not be popular with the boys in the class. She’s like a flower on a high hill that no one can reach.

Niwa-san looks like an idol you’d find in the neighborhood, so she’s easy to talk to and she seems like she might be willing to date you if things go well.

Momo-chan is cute, natural, and carefree. She’s cheerful and popular with boys, but I haven’t heard any stories about anyone confessing to her. As soon as class is over, she heads straight to MAHO-do.

Ai-chan not only has a refreshing personality but she’s also a famous person as the record holder for high school athletes in track and field. Since the “Princess carry” incident with Yuuna-chan, she’s become more popular with girls.

Hazuki-chan goes to an all-girls school, but Karen Girls’ Academy is a kind of brand name. She’s one of the top violinists in the school, and Pop also said that she’s loved by both seniors and juniors because she’s kind and helpful. Although she has a boyfriend named Yada-kun, I haven’t heard any stories about other boys confessing to her. She’s like a young rich lady and maybe that’s why her guard is up.

I wonder what’s up with me. It’s suddenly been on my mind a lot. I have many friends to talk to in class, and I’ve become close with the soccer team members too. I think I can also get along well with the junior manager, Kashiwagi Chinami-chan. However, I don’t feel like I’m getting any attention from the boys at all. On top of that, ever since the new school year started, both in class and in club activities, I’ve only had practical conversations with Kotake.

“Oh, by the way, Niwa-san was talking to Kotake about something the other day. I wonder what it was, I’m so curious!”

It was during the lunch break, and Niwa-san was the one talking to him. It was in the hallway, so all the boys were watching them with great interest.

“Come on, you should ask Kotake about it.”

“Maybe it was about soccer?”

Ai-chan and Momo-chan said without hesitation.

“If you’re curious, Doremi. Then leave it to Hana!”

Hana-chan looked at me with sparkling eyes. Onpu-chan said nonchalantly,

“No, Hana-chan. You can’t use magic that easily. It’s probably just about soccer. I don’t think she’d bring up any other topic in front of everyone with Kotake-kun.”

Everyone else might be taking it lightly, but it’s a big deal for me. Niwa-san stands out even when she’s alone, but she stands out even more when she’s in her group. If it were classmates I’ve known since elementary school, that would be one thing, but it takes a lot of courage for me to talk to a boy I just met in high school in a friendly manner.

“Is that so? I thought you weren’t that type,” Ai-chan said.

“Well, that might have been true until middle school…” I said.

“You’re a girl, so it should be easy for you to make friends,” Momo-chan said.

“Maybe you’ve changed a bit since you started to be interested in Kotake-kun?”

Onpu-chan laughed mischievously. It’s true that Niwa-san talks to Kotake normally, but she’s popular with the boys, so maybe Kotake doesn’t mind it.

“What was it like for Kotake-kun when they were talking?”

“Hmm, they were both just laughing and talking normally.”

“Don’t worry too much, Doremi-chan.”

Hazuki-chan asked with a worried expression, but then she chuckled. Maybe everyone is right. Yeah, even during the club activities, everything was normal.

But, Kotake is popular among the girls for some reason. Chinami-chan still says that Kotake is cool all the time. I hope she can move on to other club members soon.

“You have an important role to play in supporting Kotake-kun so that he can win on the stage at the Winter Kokuritsu. I think he’s only thinking about that now.”

Onpu-chan is right. I’m being influenced by Chinami-chan and Niwa-san alone. I have to do my job as a manager properly, or it’ll be a nuisance to Kotake.

“I don’t think we should judge Niwa-san without knowing her well. Besides, you can make friends easily. Take a cue from what you admire about her.”

Hazuki-chan’s words are so kind.

“That’s right, Doremi. Follow in Niwa-san’s footsteps and enhance your femininity to be irresistible!”

Hana-chan, that’s not right and you’ll ruin it.



Niwa-san is very popular, and it seems she goes on quite a few dates after school and on weekends. She’s been confessed to many times by students at the same school, but she only dates students from other schools. I’ve also heard that her dating partner is an adult, not a high schooler.

“Harukaze-san.”

While talking to Hana-chan in the seat behind me after school, I was suddenly called and turned around in surprise. Niwa-san smiled at me.

“Oh, sorry. Niwa-san. What’s up?”

“Harukaze-san and I are on day duty today. We have to bring the journal to the teacher, but is there anything else to write?”

She had the journal in her hand. I was absent-minded. It seemed that I wasn’t with my usual people for duties today.

“No, There isn’t. I’m sorry to leave it to you. I’ll take it.”

I stood up, but she restrained me and said,

“Harukaze-san, you’re going to have club activities now, right? I’ll go. The soccer team is making good progress. I want to cheer them on next time.”

“There are often games on weekends, but the schedule will be packed with various qualifying games starting in May. But Niwa-san, don’t you have a date on weekends?”

Niwa-san looked a little surprised and replied,

“I don’t have a date every week. But there is always someone I like.”

She didn’t deny that she had a date and smiled mischievously.

“Do you think having a crush can make someone as cute as you?”

Hana-chan leaned forward and joined the conversation. I really wanted to know about that too, but it was almost time for the club activities. Niwa-san also looked at her watch and said,

“Thank you, Makihatayama-san. I’m making an effort too. Oh, the cheering for the soccer team is real. I have plans this week, but please let me know the schedule tomorrow.”

I thought it was a courtesy, but I was surprised that she knew the results of the preliminary rounds. Maybe she heard me talking about it.

“If Niwa-san cheers us on, we’ll all do our best. We’ll definitely win this week, and there will be games next week and the week after. Please come and support us.”

That’s my honest feeling. The soccer team has become strong in recent years, but the number of cheering supporters is still low compared to private soccer powerhouse schools. So, it’s a very sincere wish.

Until I became a manager, I didn’t know that there were so many high school soccer tournaments. It wasn’t just the Winter Kokuritsu. Chinami-chan has been a great help.

Especially with Misora High School suddenly becoming strong recently, we got more tournaments in exchange for being seeded. And there is even a possibility that they could be picked individually for the U-17 selection and participate in training camps, and from among them, they could be chosen for the Japanese national team and really go overseas. I hope that Kotake will continue to win and eventually be selected for the national team training camp. Not just Kotake, I hope all the club members will be selected for the national team.

Kimura-kun, who went to elementary school with Kotake and then joined the youth team of a J-League club, has been selected before. It’s encouraging to have a rival nearby.

“My younger brother plays soccer. He’s in elementary school. He keeps pestering me, saying he wants to come and watch our games because he heard our high school is strong.”

Saying that, Niwa-san left the classroom with the journal and bag in hand. She’s really nice when you talk to her. The atmosphere is completely different from when she’s in her group.

When talking about her younger brother, she seems like a normal, nice older sister. Maybe that’s what she was talking about with Kotake. If her brother plays soccer, she might really come to support us. It could really boost the motivation of the club members.

“Oh, I can’t be late. Alright, Hana-chan, I’ll stop by MAHO-do later.”

Niwa-san had been considerate enough to offer that, but I couldn’t afford to be late.

“Yeah, Doremi, good luck with your club activities!”

I waved goodbye to Hana-chan and hurriedly left the classroom.



As the match is approaching, our practice has become more targeted towards the members of the opposing school. From now on, we’ll be facing powerhouse schools, so it’s going to be a tough fight. Chinami-chan and I are gathering data on other schools.

As soon as the team members start practicing, Chinami-chan and I, as managers, bring drinks, materials, etc. to the field. We’re used to the physical work. When I looked outside the fence, I saw Niwa-san and Okuyama Naomi-chan walking home together.

“Huh? Do they know each other? Or maybe it’s just a coincidence?”

I thought it was strange for a moment, but I didn’t really care and continued to check the practice matches while doing other errands. Chinami-chan was on the opposite side of the pitch, picking up balls with new members.

──Come to think of it, it’s the first time I’ve been in a different class than Naomi-chan…

We weren’t very close, but I had been in the same class with Naomi-chan for a long time. She’s always been tall since elementary school, and she’s good at sports that make use of her height. She looks boyish, but she also has feminine qualities.

Even now, she’s tall and has a short haircut, so when she walks with a cute girl like Niwa-san, she looks like a boyfriend if they weren’t in uniform.

The girls in Niwa-san’s group are really feminine, and you can tell they pay a lot of attention to their hairstyles and accessories. Their conversations in class are predominantly about boys and fashion, and of course, they’re all popular.

On the other hand, for ordinary girls like us, they might be the type to avoid. Being too beautiful that even boys can’t approach them makes them harder to socialize with. But they’ve got a perfect balance that makes other girls suspicious and dislike them, saying they’re just being strategic.

So, I thought it was a strange pairing.



Without having the chance to talk with Naomi-chan, the weekend arrived. The soccer team’s game was not an easy win, but we managed to win without conceding any goals thanks to Kotake’s goal. This puts us in the best 8, and the next step is the quarterfinals. We also have to qualify for the inter-high school competition, and then the U-17 tournament. There is still time before the Winter Kokuritsu.

On my way home from the game after we broke up, I saw Niwa-san near the train station. Of course, she was in plain clothes, wearing a mini dress that was appropriate for early summer and a knitted lace cardigan. Her twin tails were neatly curled. As I watched her, I was impressed once again by her femininity. It looked like she was out with a boy, just the two of them. Could he really be her boyfriend? I’m curious about who her date is, but judging from his clothes and atmosphere, he seems to be a high school student.

As expected, Niwa-san was not only known by her classmates but also by senior and junior members of the team. Is she really an idol after all? I’m glad there were no team members around. The next game is on Saturday next week, so I’ll ask her to cheer us on. It can really motivate us.

I thought I’d talk about that on Monday, so I went home, but when I went to MAHO-do on Sunday,

“Doremiii, look at this!”

When Hana-chan saw me, she started waving a fashion magazine around.

“Kaori-chan came to the store a while ago. I went to the convenience store and bought it right away!”

Although the high energy of Hana-chan and Momo-chan was usual, the fact that Shimakura Kaori-chan had come meant that she had caught some information again.

“Eh? This is a magazine that high school girls often buy. What’s the matter with Kaori-chan?”

Even though I’ve never bought those magazines myself, I sometimes flip through them in the bookstore. I was curious about why Kaori-chan went out of her way to come here, and when I looked at the page that Hana-chan opened,

“Oh, is that Niwa-san?”

It’s what you call a reader model2. Niwa-san was wearing clothes from a popular fashion brand for high school girls over several pages.

“Wow, she’s quite prominently featured. I didn’t know she was a reader model.”

Maybe because a professional photographer took the pictures, the originally cute Niwa-san has been upgraded. I’ve been hearing a lot about reader models lately, but it feels strange that one of my classmates is appearing in a popular magazine.

“Fufufufu, Doremi, that’s not the only problem.”

Hana-chan pointed suggestively to a boy who appeared on the same page.

img 

“It says date fashion, so it’s okay to be in it with a boy… Huh──? Eh──?”

The one in the photo who looked friendly with Niwa-san was,

“Hey, I’m surprised. What a handsome guy, Na-o-mi-chan,” Momo-chan said.

No way.

I was momentarily confused. I wouldn’t have recognized her if they hadn’t told me, but when I looked closely, it was definitely Okuyama Naomi-chan. The model’s names were written as “Hina” and “Nao”.

I looked at Momo-chan and Hana-chan, thinking they might have gathered more information, but I was glared at by Majorika and Lala, so I regained my composure. Until Ai-chan and Hazuki-chan, who were scheduled to come in the evening, showed up, I decided to take care of the store and make sweets. After all, I’m getting paid for my part-time job. I have to do it properly.



On Monday, most of the girls in my class seemed to have found out that Niwa-san is a reader model. Well, it’s not surprising that she’s a reader model. In that atmosphere, she was normal herself. Nowadays, there are reader models in various magazines, so she is not very special. But,

“Wow, Niwa-san. You were on the cover of the magazine, and you have a lot of pages.”

I whispered to her during a break.

“I was also surprised when I found out just before the release of the book. They take lots of photos, but I thought only a few would be used. I’m glad I told Yamaki-sensei.”

As I thought, her reply was also a whisper. The homeroom teacher, Yamaki-sensei, a.k.a. Leon, has no objection to part-time work as long as it is properly reported. However, if she wants to continue with the part-time job, it is forbidden to take pictures late at night. This is because of what happened to Yada Masaru-kun, and most importantly, Niwa-san is a girl.

I found Naomi-chan during the lunch break and asked her, along with Hana-chan, Momo-chan, and Ai-chan, about the magazine and the models. I only got the information from Shimakura Kaori-chan, but I had no idea that she wanted to be a model.

It all started when Niwa-san invited her to be a model.

“Niwa-san said she wanted to be a fashion model. But she didn’t grow as tall as she had hoped. It seems that overseas models are too short even at 170 cm. She said she was envious of me and wished she were at least 5 cm taller.”

No one had ever said they were envious of Naomi-chan’s height before. Although she had been invited to join a sports club, Naomi-chan did not have a particular sport she wanted to pursue and therefore did not join the club.

“Niwa-san had her own worries as well,” Momo-chan said.

“When it comes to fashion models, height is the only thing that cannot be improved by effort alone, and it’s a tough aspect,” Ai-chan added.

Niwa-san is one of the taller girls in our class. She is going to continue to be a reader model and a girl model. It’s a good way to learn. But anyway,

“By the way, the boys’ clothes looked good on you. Was that also Niwa-san’s idea?” Ai-chan asked.

“That was so cool! Naomi-chan was so handsome!”

Hana-chan was way too excited. Naomi-chan looked a bit troubled.

“I never thought about whether I was suited to be a model until Niwa-san told me. If I were as cute as Niwa-san… but I was surprised to be featured so prominently in a magazine.”

Yamaki-sensei, also known as Leon, his wife Minako-san, is an active model. Tachibana-senpai, Tamaki Reika’s boyfriend, his mother Shouko-san, is also a former model, and they are indeed tall. They both have a gorgeous look that’s totally different from Naomi-chan’s image. But after Niwa-san recommended it, she became interested in the world of modeling.

Niwa-san applied to be a reader model and was hired right away, but it took her six months to overcome her family’s opposition. In return, she had been studying by reading various books to become a reader model as soon as she was given permission. Therefore, she became familiar with the fashion industry and was able to quickly get used to it and come up with ideas.

Since the beginning of admission to school, Naomi-chan has always been on her mind. She thought she was definitely suited for modeling.

“There are models who are extremely beautiful and have strong personalities, but there are also models who bring out the best in their clothes and accessories. I think Okuyama-san can change her impression with makeup and can become any type. Her current atmosphere is perfect for a cute boy.”

That was what Niwa-san said to Naomi-chan.

“I think a cute boy means a herbivorous man, which is very popular nowadays,” I said.

“That’s amazing. She looks like a producer,” Momo-chan said.

“Seriously, we didn’t even notice that,” Ai-chan said.

“Yeah, it’s all good in the end, right?” Hana-chan said.

Naomi-chan’s face turned slightly red, perhaps because she was embarrassed.



Niwa-san boldly invited Naomi-chan to dress up as a boy and go to a photo shoot with her, which led to this project. “Hina”-chan seems to be rapidly gaining popularity right now, and the number of pages is increasing. I’m sure people will be interested in who “Nao”-kun, who seems to be getting along well with her, is.

“Niwa-san has given up on being a fashion model, but she said she wants to work in the fashion industry. She said she needs to study more.”

Naomi-chan seems to be talking a lot with Niwa-san. The magazine was released last week, so Niwa-san must have invited Naomi-chan to the photo shoot much earlier. And in boys’ clothes, too.

“Oh, by the way. When I dress in boys’ clothes, people think I’m walking with her boyfriend, so it’s convenient for her. It’s a win-win situation because I also learn, but I don’t know if that’s a good idea.”

I see. But in reality, it’s really true that Niwa-san has dated so many people since entering high school that one hand is not enough to count them all. Naomi-chan said she was looking for the best partner, but that’s only possible because of her popularity.

“By having a boyfriend, she thinks she can work harder and become even more beautiful. But it doesn’t seem to last long. Niwa-san is so hilarious.”

Naomi-chan said with a smile. Niwa-san was also checking out the sweets at MAHO-do, trying to resist eating them. But there’s a new sweet store right nearby, and Niwa-san said it was really hard to resist the temptation.

After the lunch break, Naomi-chan and we parted ways,

“Wow, she’s changed quite a bit, Naomi-chan,” Ai-chan said.

“Naomi-chan really has become cooler, huh, Doremi!” Hana-chan said.

“Yeah. She seems to be having fun now that she has a dream for the future,” I said.

I never thought of her as a model. And “Nao”-kun, who has a slender and smart figure, seems like the kind of boy that girls would like. The power of makeup is also amazing.

“Her walking posture is also very good. She looks so different from the Naomi-chan I remember from elementary school,” Momo-chan said.

In elementary school, Naomi-chan was a bit hunchbacked and worried about being too tall.

Looking at Naomi-chan’s figure from behind, I felt a little complicated.

When I returned to class, Niwa-san was opening her textbook for the next class at her desk. She usually hangs out in her group until the last minute of lunch break and talks with boys as well.

“Oh, that’s rare. Did you forget your homework?”

When I spoke to her, Niwa-san looked relieved and said,

“No, I’m just doing some advance studying. The test is coming up soon, so I have to work hard.”

Although her seat is not particularly close to the front, Niwa-san takes her studies seriously. Like me, she seems to think that she has to pay attention in class because she is busy on the weekends. She never talks about her boyfriend in class, but I’m sure she’s not home on weekends because she’s either working part-time or out on a date. This is totally different from my schedule. Boo-hoo-hoo.

Or maybe, in exchange for allowing her to work as a model, she was required to maintain her grades by Leon or her family. Well, I’m in the same situation too.



On Monday, I went to work at MAHO-do as usual. While Momo-chan and Hana-chan were preparing for tomorrow’s work and we were cleaning and tidying up, Niwa-san and Naomi-chan were inevitably the subject of discussion.

“Doremi-chan felt a little sad when she found out her recently met Niwa-san could see that Okuyama-san is a potential model.”

When Hazuki-chan accurately expressed my feelings without hesitation, I was shocked.

“I realized that I had been so short-sighted.”

“I think you’re the type to focus on one thing and work hard at it. Besides, everyone has their own area of expertise,” Onpu-chan said.

“That’s right. Once you decide on something, you act fast,” Ai-chan said.

“Yeah, yeah, and I’m always the one left in the dust,” Momo-chan joked.

As my best friends, they didn’t just comfort me with pretty words, but I could tell that they were really paying attention to me. Unlike when I was a child, I think I’m a little more thoughtful about my actions, but I wonder if I’m still a worry to others.

“Doremi is a bit impulsive, but that’s her best part!”

“Hey, it’s getting more and more like you’re not praising me?”

Everyone had shifty eyes, and Lala and Majorika were holding back their laughter.

“But, even if the height problem is solved, can anyone become a model if they want to and work hard from now on?”

I asked Onpu-chan, concerned about Naomi-chan.

“It takes lessons, language skills and knowledge of fashion. There is also luck.”

“Even if Naomi-chan’s starting late, she can make up for lost time with extra effort. I’m sure she’ll work hard to catch up,” Ai-chan added.

“That’s the same for us too, Doremi-chan.”

Hazuki-chan said seriously.

“I might not be able to become a professional violinist either. I’m not the only one making an effort.”

“If you say that, there’s no guarantee that I can become a famous patissiere like Ikoma-san. After all, there are people all over the world with the same goal.”

“That’s true. There are only a handful of athletes in the world who can compete in the Olympics and set records.”

Oh no, it’s starting to sound negative. Have you all thought about this?

“That’s right. There are really few actresses who can continue to work in the forefront even as they get older. And, like Shimizu Ruri-san, it takes effort to choose a different life and succeed. No one knows if I can become like that. Many stars debut every year. Even Niwa-san might become my rival.”

Even Onpu-chaaan?

“Hana may not be able to become Queen either!”

“That’s a different issue.”

Onpu-chan smiled and then continued,

“It’s okay, you know. You chose your own path and made your own decision. Even if it doesn’t work out, you won’t regret it.”

“That’s right. And even if it doesn’t work out, I don’t think it’s a waste to strive for your goals.”

Everyone nodded in agreement with Hazuki-chan’s words. I haven’t chosen anything yet. But even those who have chosen and are working hard are struggling with these thoughts.

“But first, focus on yourself and then your immediate goals,” Ai-chan added.

“Hana will also look into what it takes to become a great Queen!”

And as we were making up our minds to move on to our respective goals,

“Girls, you’ve stopped working. Now that we’re all cleaned up and ready to go, let’s call it a day. Good job, everyone.”

Lala said, and we smiled wryly as we realized that we were still holding the cleaning tools. After finishing the cleanup, we stepped out onto the sidewalk where the streetlights were beginning to turn on.

After arriving home, I thought about many things as I ate dinner with my family, took a bath, and studied in my room.

Since meeting a girl named Niwa-san, who is a kind of friend I’ve never met before, I’ve been really surprised. My future is still completely undecided, but I’ve never experienced failure in return.

I can’t give my hardworking best friends any advice from my position, but I’ll definitely listen to them when they’re going through a tough time. And for now, let’s focus on the soccer team. Let’s do what I can.



The season is steadily heading towards early summer. I’ve been waiting for summer during the annoying rainy season. However, I’ll definitely get sunburned this year. I hate soccer stadiums because they don’t have roofs.

The semifinals of the second round of the prefectural tournament are on Saturday, and Niwa-san said she would be there. As one would expect from a semifinal, it’s gaining recognition within the school. Maybe it’s because Niwa-san has become like an idol, and it’s become known in the class that she’s going to cheer us on.

However, lately, Niwa-san has been spending a lot of time alone. The girls who were originally in the same group with her started ignoring her.

“What a fickle bunch of people,” Ai-chan said.

“She has never been very popular with the other girls. And because her previous group was so prominent, it’s also difficult for her to be invited to join another group,” I said.

“Well, being popular with boys can be a negative factor too,” Momo-chan said.

“Hana treats her the same as always.”

Apparently, the girls in the same group have become jealous of her since her rating as a reading model has improved.

“Girls are difficult creatures.”

Hazuki-chan, who goes to an all-girls high school, sighed. It seems that not being able to join a group just because you are a little different is common. Mukai Riko-chan, who was Hazuki-chan’s classmate last year, was like that when she first entered the school.

“But still, they’re a little narrow-minded. It’s not like she became a celebrity or something.”

Onpu-chan also had a hard time making friends last year. There are many rivals in the school, and there was also a time when she couldn’t properly judge the appropriate level of familiarity with the people around her, especially when she suddenly gained attention.

“So, Doremi-chan. Is Niwa-san isolated?” Hazuki-chan asked.

“It doesn’t look like Niwa-san is losing her spirit that much,” I said.

It seems she still has boys she likes and goes on dates with them. If she had a boyfriend, he would become her ally even if it’s a little tough. The modeling job also seems to be enjoyable.

“She’s not doing anything wrong or bragging. If she just acts like usual, everything will go back to normal,” I continued.

“Hana is talking to her a lot, though.”

“I’m worried that if she gets too much sympathy from the boys, she’ll become an outcast in the class again,” Momo-chan said.

Just like herself, who apparently didn’t read the air and gave chocolates to the whole class on Valentine’s Day.

“She must be a girl with a lot of initiative, the kind who would become a reader model and come up with ideas. She might actually be a strong-willed type.”

And it seems that she sometimes goes out with Naomi-chan. With someone to talk to, maybe Niwa-san won’t mind losing her friends in class.

After hearing this, everyone looked a little relieved. Onpu-chan said it in a dismissive way, but I knew she was worried. Hazuki-chan is another girl Niwa-san has never met in person, but she seemed to care for her as if they were acquaintances. That made me a little happy.



“Harukaze-saan!”

Long before the game started, Niwa-san had arrived at the venue. She was waving her hand. She seemed to have taken all the necessary precautions to protect herself from the sun, as expected.

“I’m so glad you came! Thanks, my popularity is going up too.”

The club members started gathering on the field, stealing glances at her. When Niwa-san waved her hand, they all blushed and looked away.

Many of the students had known Niwa-san for a long time, but after she was featured prominently in a magazine as a reader model, she became well known not only in her class but also throughout the school. It’s a very popular magazine among girls, so she became a real celebrity. In a short period of time, I think she has become even prettier. She has been promoted from a local idol.

“I’m glad to see that you’re doing well, Niwa-san. I was a little worried about you because you’ve been alone in class a lot lately.”

I always noticed that she was missing from the group that ate lunch together.

“Fufufu… now I’m having lunch with my seniors in the literature club and Okuyama-san.”

She’s not discouraged after all. And she doesn’t seem to have any trouble finding lunch buddies. She has a much wider range of friends than I do. Of course, some of her seniors are boys.

“By the way, Niwa-san, did you come here alone? Where is your younger brother?”

I wanted to see her younger brother who was looking forward to the game,

“Looks like they’ve picked a spot, see?”

Niwa-san pointed to a family unpacking their things. Oh, they looked over here.

“Wait… Huh? Is your younger brother in elementary school really that small?”

He definitely looked like he was in the lower grades. I thought he was in fifth or sixth grade.

“He’s called Tatsuya, and he’s in the second grade. He’s almost 10 years younger than me.”

Ufufu, Niwa-san laughed. She looked really happy. Her younger brother is a little bigger for a second grader, but he has a similar atmosphere to Niwa-san. He’s going to be cool. Maybe the one together with him is his father.

“Hinako, what are you talking about? You can’t monopolize the manager before the game.”

Tatsuya-kun, her younger brother, approached and tugged at Niwa-san’s cardigan. I was a little happy to hear that Niwa-san had told him about me.

“I’m sorry, Tatsuya. I just wanted to say hello to my classmate Harukaze-san.”

Tatsuya-kun bowed his head at me. Maybe he was curious about the club members who were stealing glances at us.

“Everyone is gathered. Let’s go back quickly, Hinako.”

“Oh, it’s okay. We’re still warming up.”

When I tried to make an excuse, Niwa-san looked at Chinami-chan and the juniors who were carrying the equipment and said,

“That’s right. Sorry about that. We’ll all be cheering for you, so make sure you win the game.”

I waved them away and they headed for their father’s place.

“Look, it’s getting more and more people. Coming early was the right choice,” Tatsuya-kun said to Niwa-san, who walked hand in hand with Tatsuya-kun and replied, “Tatsuya has been looking forward to this since yesterday.” They seemed to be really close. It was a completely different impression from the Niwa-san I saw in class… Ugh, she’ll have more fans among the club members.

I saw Kotake starting to stretch out on the field. Good thing he didn’t seem to be looking at Niwa-san. Yeah, he was in game mode. And I realized that Niwa-san was really talking to Kotake for her brother’s sake.

Looking at the bleachers, the number of people in the opposing school’s section was increasing rapidly. Since the stadium was big, I didn’t want it to be empty, but my classmates and seniors from Misora High School came to support us, and the seats were gradually filling up from the front row.

Niwa-san was dressed in a girly outfit as usual today, with her trademark twin tails braided and a small flower hair ornament attached. She was as fashionable as ever, but not in a way that was inappropriate for watching sports. That’s truly amazing. She also talked to the students and parents of Misora High School who were sitting nearby.



The warm-up was over, and it was finally kick-off time.

The game became a difficult one where we had to defend the lead we got in the early stages and aim for additional points. Of course, the opposing school was attacking aggressively. They were a famous private school that had been selected as the prefectural representative, so we couldn’t let our guard down with just one point.

We managed to hold them off in the first half with a score of 1-0, but in the second half, Kotake’s marking became stricter, and they scored a goal against us. I watched the game with a prayer-like feeling after the tie.

In the end, Kotake scored a header from a corner kick near the end of the second half, and we managed to withstand the opponent’s fierce attacks for the remaining time, and the game ended. I’m glad we won.

Even though I was nervous watching the game from the cheering section, this year, while doing various jobs, I was able to be a bit more composed while watching. I used to focus on Kotake, but after attending many practice matches and official games, I was able to look at the overall picture. But I still feel like I have a lot to learn. I have to work hard.

Niwa-san texted me after the game. “Congratulations. I’m glad you won. I want to go to the finals too,” she wrote. She must have watched the game until the end. I bet the boys were paying attention to her when she left.

Niwa-san seems to dote on her younger brother, who has a cheeky tone, maybe because they have an age gap. And Tatsuya-kun certainly loves his big sister very much too. Maybe their father is also worried that his daughter is appearing in magazines now. They must be a typical family that can be found anywhere.

Since the next game is the finals, I think my friends will come to support us if their schedules allow it. I’ll introduce them to the popular Niwa-san. I really want to ask Onpu-chan and Hazuki-chan what they think of Niwa-san.



Afterwards, Niwa-san appeared in the magazine as a reader model in every issue. Naomi-chan also appears occasionally, but seems to be treated as a male model for now. However, I think her expressions have improved a lot.

With her popularity rising again, her group of close friends has returned. Maybe they are much more calculating than Niwa-san. And Niwa-san still seems to be busy with her modeling job and dating. I was wondering if she was changing boyfriends too fast,

“Are you okay? Won’t someone hold a grudge against you?”

On the day we took turns being on duty after school, Hana-chan and I were worried and asked.

“Thanks for worrying about me.”

“There have been a lot of incidents lately, and I think your father and younger brother must be worried too.”

“I want to meet all kinds of people. But I’ll be careful not to worry anyone. Oh, next time, I’ll teach you how to break up with someone without making them hate you.”

She smiled and said that. Well, even if I knew, I didn’t think I would have any use for it.

“I want to know, I want to know! Hana also wants to make lots of boyfriends and break up with them!”

Hana-chan, that’s a classic example of putting the effect before the cause… Anyway, that’s not the point right now.

“But Harukaze-san, you like Kotake-kun, right?”

I almost missed it since she said it so casually.

“Kotake-kun is cool, good at soccer, and popular. If you don’t get hold of him, he might be taken away by someone else like me.”

“Huh… Huh? Ehhh!”

She winked at me and quickly stood up, without even looking back at me, when one of her close friends called her and left the classroom.

There was no time for explanations, excuses, or apologies. It was lucky that Hana-chan was the only one around me.

“Doremi, Niwa-san is kind of amazing. Nikushoku-kei3?”

Hana-chan innocently said the word she had just learned, but I began to get nervous.

“I know she didn’t mean it. That joke really hurt my heart.”

I looked at Kotake’s seat, who had already left for his club activities. No, no, I had to hurry up for my club activities too.



I might be separated from Niwa-san after the seat rearrangement in the second term, but we seem to have become friends. She said she wanted to work somewhere in the fashion industry eventually. Even if she’s not a model, she has the talent to find someone like Naomi-chan, so she might want to work in the fashion industry as a designer or producer for a long time.

It hasn’t even been two full months since we met. I guess I only know as much about Niwa-san as I would know about a new book after reading a few pages. If we say it in terms of the plot structure, it’s the beginning. I wonder what kind of story will unfold from now on. I would venture to say that she is a girl I would like to see in 10 years or so, with Hana-chan’s magic.

Niwa-san was like an unknown creature at first, but now I feel like I want to observe her more.

Comments:





  1. A type of competition where participants are divided into groups or “blocks” and play against each other within their respective blocks. The winners of each block then advance to a final stage of the tournament. 

  2. A reader model is an amateur fashion model who serves as a representative of the readers of a particular fashion magazine. The difference between a reader model and a regular model is that a reader model looks more like an average Japanese girl. 

  3. Nikushoku-kei is someone who is proactive about love and opposite-sex relationships, as opposed to herbivore men.