Six years after graduating from high school, on April 1st, I, Harukaze Doremi, became a newly appointed teacher at my alma mater, Misora Municipal Misora First Elementary School.

Huh, the years don’t add up? Did I think I failed at university?

No, no! I graduated from university in four years! And I properly got my teaching license. Actually, I was supposed to become a teacher last year, but there were no openings for elementary school teachers, so I got stuck with a “please wait” for one year.

Well, for half a year, I worked as a temporary teacher at a Yokohama elementary school covering for a teacher on maternity leave. But! This year, I, Harukaze Doremi, have finally been officially hired!

The class I’m in charge of for the first time is Grade 3, Class 2.

When Hazuki-chan and I first met Ai-chan, we were in class 3-2. It’s kinda fated or something…

On the day the homeroom classes were decided, I sent a message to Ai-chan.

Come on, getting assigned to Misora First Elementary School is way more fate than what class you got!

She replied with a retort like that.

Can’t argue with that. During my university days, I did my teaching practicum at Misora First Elementary School, but I never imagined I’d be teaching at my own alma mater.

I really am lucky, aren’t I?

On top of that, Seki-sensei, who had transferred to another school three years ago, returned as the grade head and homeroom teacher of Grade 3, Class 1.

“If anything comes up, talk to me.”

That’s what she said, but I’m a teacher now too, so I can’t rely on her forever. But having her support gives me peace of mind.

Moreover, three teachers from when I was enrolled are still here, and when I went to the school to give my introductory greetings, they nostalgically spoke kind words to me.

It seems like everything has been incredibly lucky so far, but there’s one issue.

The principal, believe it or not, is Akahori-sensei, who was the vice-principal when I was a student. Principal Akahori had been the vice-principal at our school and two others for a long time, but it wasn’t until the year before his retirement that he finally became the principal, as Seki-sensei informed me.

The principal has grown this beard and acts all high and mighty.

He was the one who opposed me helping out at MAHO-do with Hazuki-chan and Ai-chan until the very end too.

When I went to give my introductory greetings as a new teacher, with all the teachers gathered in the teachers’ room, he said,

“I never imagined that Harukaze Doremi-san would become a teacher. It’s truly a bolt from the blue!”

Isn’t that power harassment?

When I tried to complain, Seki-sensei backed me up.

“Even as an elementary school student, Harukaze cared deeply about her friends, and she could perceive their worries well. While she was somewhat clumsy, I believe she will be a fine teacher.”

The principal smiled wryly and said,

“Well, with grade head Seki-sensei looking out for her, please help shape this novice teacher into a full-fledged one. Harukaze-sensei, be sure not to cause any incidents!”

I understand that he wants to spend his last year of teaching in peace, but still…

──Alright, I’ll become an outstanding teacher who won’t give him any chances to put me down!

I swore in my heart.



However, right after I made that vow, when I tried to give an introductory greeting with a microphone in front of the whole school at the entrance ceremony, this happened:

I knew for sure I was extremely nervous. After taking a big, deep breath to relax, I cheerfully lowered my head and said,

“Hello, everyo…”

But it was a mistake to bow down energetically.

Baaam! I accidentally hit my forehead hard against the microphone.

“Owwwwww!”

I got a bump on my head, tears flowed, my greeting turned into a clumsy mess, I got laughs from the students, and I made a complete fool of myself.

Sure enough, after the entrance ceremony, when I went into the classroom, someone had written “Harukaze Dojimi-sensei” in chalk on the blackboard, along with a poorly drawn portrait of me with tears streaming down my face.

I suppressed my anger and said,

“Your teacher graduated from this Misora First Elementary School just like all of you. You clearly understood that my first nickname was ‘Dojimi’, right?”

Glancing around at the students, a lively-looking boy from the very back seat said,

“But anyone would think that after seeing you at the morning assembly.”

And everyone started giggling.

“Well, you’re not wrong. I was so nervous that I didn’t see the microphone coming at my face. It hurt so bad that my eyes were on fire!”

In response to my words, a girl sitting in the front row muttered,

“When I get nervous, I can’t talk properly either and mess up too…”

I felt delighted and responded,

“Exactly! The more you think you shouldn’t be nervous, the more clumsy mistakes you make! Umm… what’s your name again?”

The girl bashfully fidgeted before answering in a small voice,

“Ogawa Ririka.”

“Ogawa-san! What a wonderful name Ririka is! I’ll remember you first. Let’s get along!”

Ogawa-san nodded shyly.

I continued smiling and addressed the whole class,

“I won’t ask something as silly as who drew this doodle. Instead, whoever did it, please try to draw your teacher a little more beautifully next time!”

The entire class chuckled, and when I said that, everyone turned their heads with giggles towards the earlier boy from the back seat.

“W-What’s up!? D-Don’t look at me!”

The boy panicked. His reaction made it obvious he was the culprit who had drawn it, and I couldn’t help but smile in amusement.

“Fufu, what’s your name?”

“I-I’m… Yamaguri Hayato…”

“That’s right! There’s always someone like you. You really resemble Kotake, my classmate who gave me the nickname ‘Dojimi’.”

Then, a suntanned boy sitting right behind Ogawa-san leaned forward and asked eagerly,

“By any chance, are you talking about Kotake-senshu, the ace of Marinos?”

“That’s right! How did you know?”

When I asked, he responded,

“I’m a huge Marinos fan! And Kotake-senshu is an alum of our school… Oh yeah! I’ve seen Harukaze-sensei in the supporter stands at the stadium! Always in the front row cheering really loudly, right?”

“Yup! I go cheering at every home game.”

“I knew it! You’re famous for loudly heckling the opposing team, right?”

The classroom erupted into raucous laughter.

“Oh geez~… so you saw that. Hahahaha, well then…”

I erased the doodle on the blackboard and rewrote my name as “Harukaze Doremi”.

“My name is Harukaze Doremi. My mother is a piano teacher, so she named me Doremi after the musical note ‘do-re-mi-fa-so-la-ti-do’. I failed the university entrance exam once, and even after graduating, I had to wait a year because no elementary schools had openings for teachers, but I finally became a teacher at this school.”

My students were looking at me with sparkling eyes.

“You’ve already found out I’m clumsy and bumbling, but I’ve come to love you all and I want to be a good teacher. So if you have any worries or problems, please don’t hesitate to talk to me. I’ll be there to think with you. And I want to grow with you all, step by step, so please treat me well!”

I bowed my head and received smiling applause from the students.



Hazuki-chan graduated from the Paris Conservatory of Music and became a professional violinist. Ai-chan missed out on a medal in the 10,000 meters at the London Olympics, but has switched to marathon and is aiming for a gold medal at the Rio Olympics. Onpu-chan continues steadily building her career on Broadway after living in New York and working as a stage actress. Momo-chan, who graduated from a confectionery school in Paris and worked at a famous patisserie, is now working as a sous-chef at “Eugene” while striving to rebuild the MAHO-do in New York. And two years ago, Hana-chan, who turned twelve, was reunited with her younger sister Yume-chan. They had a thorough discussion and Hana-chan is determined to become the next Queen of the witch world this coming spring… Everyone is moving forward, chasing their dreams ahead of me.

I’ve just stepped onto the starting line, but I plan to progress steadily, one step at a time without rushing.

Even though I completed my witch apprenticeship without becoming a full-fledged witch, I consider the wonderful days I spent with everyone as my treasure, and I plan to live in my own way from now on.

With immense gratitude to all those who supported me until the end,

“Thank you! Happy Lucky, let it reach everyone!”




(End)
Comments:

Click here to leave comments on GitLab.

shinsya

Doremi Chan arigatou