───What did you think when you heard that the members of “Ojamajo Doremi” would appear as 16-year-olds?

When I heard from Producer Seki-san at the studio that a novel would be released about Doremi-chan and the others growing up, I was really looking forward to it. I thought it might just be a single volume, but I was surprised to see it become a full-fledged series.

It’s not just simply a merchandise item, the way it captures their fluctuating feelings and growth as they mature is like watching it on video. It’s an enjoyable read and I’m happy about it.

Everyone hasn’t really changed, or rather, they’ve grown up but still maintained their sensitivity from back then. It’s great to see that they’ve grown not only from good experiences, but also from difficult ones.

Anime with the setting of “magic” tend to become stories that are unrealistic, but “Ojamajo Doremi” had episodes that felt like they could happen in everyday life even during the TV series. That hasn’t changed even in the 16-year-old version. There’s the issue of Hazuki-chan’s bullying problem at Ura Site, Aiko-chan’s injury, and even Doremi-chan who still can’t decide on her future plans (laughs). It’s almost like there’s really a place called Misora City where they live.



───What do you think will happen to everyone from now on?

I don’t have any specific hopes for how they’ll turn out. As a reader, I want to be surprised and say, “What? That’s what happens?” or “Wow, I didn’t expect that.” I’m really looking forward to what’s to come.



───You joined the TV series in the second season as Hana-chan, but what was the audition like?

I was given several different illustrations of Hana-chan, crying, angry, or looking sad, etc. Then they asked me to provide a voice that matched each one.



───Oh, because she’s a baby, she doesn’t have any lines!

Yes, that’s right. I always wanted to play a baby character since I was young. Veteran voice actors like Yoshida Rihoko-san have played baby roles, and I wanted to try it someday too.

Actually, playing a baby is difficult because they don’t have any lines. I realized that even with “crying”, it’s different if she’s hungry, wants to be pampered, needs her diaper changed, and so on. After that, I unconsciously started observing babies, so I was really happy to get the chance to put it into practice, and I had fun every week at the recordings.

When Seki-san passed by the studio, she said, “I was so surprised that I thought there was really a baby in the studio!” I was actually really happy to hear that.

Also, once I learned a word, I had to properly say it from then on. In other words, once she could say words like “manma” or “pudding”, I had to have her say those words consistently in later episodes. If the script was wrong, I had to check it against my memory to make sure she said it accurately. Otherwise the audience would think, “Huh?”



───Growth can’t be reversed. Hana-chan grew up over the course of the anime, but was there anything you were careful about in portraying that growth?

At first I thought it would only be for that one year. As the final episode approached, I was told that she would actually reappear aged up in the next series, and I thought “Eh?” Her looking like an elementary school student but being 2 years old mentally was an interesting idea.

But for the anime recordings, I was careful not to make her seem the same age as Doremi-chan and the others. After all, Hana-chan’s appeal was in her baby-like innocence and fearlessness, so I made sure she didn’t become an elementary school student.



───How was it to portray her in the drama CD this time?

Unlike anime where there are visuals, instead of trying to portray her as “High School Student Makihatayama Hana”, I did my best to play her as if she had aged to 6 years old. Playing the voice of a high school student without visuals would make her seem like a totally new character, so I tried not to make her too mature and kept her close to the way she was in the TV series.



───What was it like for you when you were 16 or 17 years old, Otani-san?

I was completely focused on club activities. When I was in the lower grades of elementary school, I wanted to become a stage actress. However, there was no drama club in middle school, so I joined the volleyball club because I wanted to grow taller. I planned to join the drama club when I entered high school. However, the drama club at the high school I entered was not very active, so I had a hard time deciding whether to continue playing volleyball or join the drama club, which was also not very active. I consulted with my middle school teacher, who advised me, “Try anything and everything while you’re young.” So I decided to join both clubs. Basically, I played volleyball from morning to night and joined the drama club when the cultural festival got closer. There was hardly any time to hang out with friends and play in the town on days off.



───Now, back to the topic of Doremi, what does the series “Ojamajo Doremi” mean to you, Otani-san? Please tell us about it and give us a message to our readers.

It’s a great asset that I was able to fulfill my long-time wish of playing a baby. It’s one of the important works that I can never forget. The world of “Doremi” has laughter, tears, and moments that will make you feel touched. I think it’s still enjoyable for kids today, and it can also provide hints on how to solve problems within oneself. It’s a treasure that can be recommended to many people because it’s not preachy and can be enjoyed as a fun and dreamy story.

To the readers who are reading this book, I believe many of you have watched the TV series in the past. If this book can give you encouragement and inspiration as you continue to pursue new dreams without shattering the dreams you had back then, it would be a wonderful thing.




January 2014 At Studio Tavac
Comments: