Despite attending the same school since elementary school, I have many friends whom I haven’t had the chance to talk to recently. We greet each other in the morning and sometimes have a brief conversation, but I find it surprising that even though we share the same hallway, the distance between classroom doors seems quite long. And compared to elementary school, we don’t have much time anymore.

I am also busy, but my friends are even busier than me. When I’m working as a manager during soccer matches, I don’t even have time to talk to my friends who came to support us.

Up until middle school, it felt like an extension of elementary school, but now I have become a witch apprentice. I have to be careful not to reveal the secrets of the mysterious MAHO-do.

After entering high school, I first met Majorika and Lala. Momo-chan suddenly joined us, and Onpu-chan started coming to work part-time after returning. Then came Hana-chan and Dodo and the others. I also learned about the existence of her younger sister Yume-chan.

Even if there is a chatting area in the store, it’s rare that we can chat while eating sweets during work. It would be bad if only Momo-chan was busy when the store is quiet. Since the opening of the newly opened pastry store “Eugene” nearby, the customer base and sales of MAHO-do have changed.

Recently, there are many things that we can only talk about within MAHO-do. At 17 years old, I feel like I’m getting confused holding so many secrets.

That’s why I want to share the story of how I was able to have a long-awaited conversation with such friends and how it made me feel good.



At the beginning of the year, the soccer team had its first practice match. Although the club activities are held almost every day, playing against other schools in a match gives us a real sense of excitement and motivation.

After returning to the school and bidding farewell to Kotake and the junior manager Chinami-chan, I headed to work at MAHO-do. Although it was still daytime, the sky was cloudy and grey, making it feel like evening.

Looking up at the grey sky made me feel down. I couldn’t decide if I was eagerly awaiting spring or if I wanted to delay it a little longer…

“Fuuuh~~.”

That was a loud sigh, but it wasn’t me. Looking around, I saw a high school girl wearing the same uniform as me sitting on a bench in the park. She was undoubtedly the one who had let out that sigh before me.

“Oh, it’s Itoko-chan!”

I turned to face her, and it was Hamada Itoko-chan.

I wonder if everyone remembers Hamada Itoko-chan. She has a lot of siblings, and when I was in the third grade of elementary school, it was the only year when all six of the Hamada siblings, from first to sixth grade, were in the same school. I found out that they were all relay runners during the school sports festival.

I ran up to her and asked,

“What’s wrong? Why are you here? And you let out such a big sigh.”

“Oh, Doremi-chan. What’s up? Huh, sigh? Was it that loud?”

How unaware you were. I sat next to Itoko-chan, who seemed a little down. As we looked up at the sky, I remembered talking with Yamaki-sensei, also known as Leon, about my future academic pursuits. It was like our sighs were in sync. I could smell a similar scent.

“When did you arrive? You’ll catch a cold.”

I said to Itoko-chan, whose nose was turning red,

“For me, my house is not calming… so I came here to take a quick breather.”

Itoko-chan had a calm, big sister-like image, but she seemed to be feeling down. I started to worry a bit and said,

“Wait a moment. Let’s go somewhere and have something warm to drink.”

I sent a message to Ai-chan, who was at MAHO-do, saying that I was counseling a friend and would be late. After all, Itoko-chan seemed like she had something she wanted to talk about.

“My oldest brother is Kazuo, and then there’s my older sister Kinuyo. My other older brother is Sachio, and my younger brother is Teruo. Then there’s my younger sister Potan… The athletic meet was nostalgic. You did your best too, Doremi-chan.”

Perhaps Itoko-chan remembered the athletic meet that day, and she chuckled softly.



The fast food restaurant near the park that we entered, which was packed on weekends, had a seat available just as we arrived.

“What happened?”

I asked as soon as we sat down.

“I was thinking about living alone in an apartment from spring, but my father and grandfather are against it.”

“You’re still in high school, though. Living alone?”

I also thought that if it were my Dad, he would oppose it. I’m a third-year high school student starting in April, so why now?

“Our family has high school and university entrance exams every year. Everyone is aiming for national or public universities, and they also want to receive scholarships.”

“Scholarships… The tuition for everyone alone would cost a lot of money.”

Itoko-chan nodded at my words and continued speaking.

“Everyone knows that preparing for entrance exams is tough, but all of my siblings help each other out.”

I see. Itoko-chan’s family has a unique situation.

“Everyone is only one year apart, right? So this year, the older brother is taking the university entrance exams, and the youngest sister is taking the high school entrance exams.”

Wasn’t Itoko-chan the fourth child? I calculated the grades in my head as I spoke.

“I’m also taking the exams next year, but it’s impossible for me to attend a national university with our current family situation! I declared that I will definitely live alone.”

“But, won’t your sister help out when she enters high school?”

Itoko-chan turned to me and said,

“When I was in elementary school, we had six siblings, but now there are nine.”

“W-What! So, the youngest are…”

“My brother Hiromu, who will be in elementary school this year, and twin girls, Chihiro and Mahiro, who will be entering kindergarten. They’re adored because they’re a little younger.”

Itoko-chan’s phone was full of pictures of her siblings. She showed me pictures of her twin siblings and youngest brother. As she said, they were all so cute. If you include their grandparents, isn’t it a three-generation family of 13 people? Her older brother and sister are currently living in dormitories for university and vocational school, but it’s like a big family that a TV station would come to interview.

“This year, Sachio and Potan are studying hard for their exams. We were relying on Kinuyo, but she’s busy with work and can’t come home…”

Itoko-chan held her cup of cocoa with both hands and drank it down in one gulp. At first glance, she looked like an office lady drinking alone.

“Since I became a second-year student, I’ve been taking care of my younger siblings, and my grades have gone down. That’s why I wanted to rent an apartment for a year starting in April to study for the entrance exams, when Hiromu and my two youngest sisters start entering elementary school and kindergarten.”

“I understand that you want to study hard for your exams, Itoko-chan, but I also understand why some people might be against it… Don’t you have any relatives living nearby that you can stay with?”

Although she had looked for suitable apartments herself, she was disheartened by unexpected opposition.

“Hmm, maybe it’s just not possible after all.”

Itoko-chan’s grades shouldn’t be that bad, but due to her family situation, she has to attend a national public university and receive a scholarship. As we talked, I remembered various things and learned about her current situation. She also told me about her other friends. Even though my close friends and I have had our own struggles, I realized that we’re all dealing with similar things.

It had been a while since we talked about so many things, the cocoa was so hot and the store was warm, and Itoko-chan seemed to relax. But I had to leave for my part-time job at MAHO-do, so I stood up,

“I’m glad I talked to you about this, Doremi-chan. Maybe my older brothers can help me figure out another solution.”

Itoko-chan smiled at me. I was happy too. Even though we didn’t come up with a solution, she laughed and waved goodbye. My worries seemed to disappear.



It was a busy weekend at the store. I apologized to Majorika and the others for being late and quickly got to work. The showcase was quite empty,

“I’m sorry. You must have been busy.”

“Don’t worry, Doremi-chan. I’m sure your friend was in trouble.”

Hazuki-chan said kindly, which made me feel a little better.

“How was the practice match after such a long time?”

Ai-chan tapped my shoulder and asked.

“Yeah, we won safely. We’ve been doing a lot of indoor muscle training lately, so it really paid off during the game. Playing matches is really great. Everyone’s facial expressions were different.”

“Well, that’s true. Our high school’s field is small, so everyone’s itching to go wild, right?” Ai-chan laughed.

“Uh-huh. Oh, I met Hamada Itoko-chan earlier. I’ll tell you later.”

I could see customers coming in,

“It’s nostalgic, Itoko-chan. Tell me later. Well then, I’ll go help Momo-chan.”

Hazuki-chan left for the kitchen, and Ai-chan and I greeted customers with “Welcome”. As it got darker, the number of customers dwindled, and the showcase was becoming even emptier, so we started preparing for closing. It would be Sunday tomorrow, so Momo-chan and the others were busy with preparations. Ai-chan and I joined them to speed things up.

We changed out of our patissiere outfits and drank tea that Lala had made while talking about Itoko-chan. Momo-chan sounded uncertain and said,

“Itoko-chan is someone who has many siblings…”

Because Momo-chan spent her middle school days in America, it couldn’t be helped that her impression of Hamada Itoko-chan was that she had many siblings.

I told everyone about today’s events.

“Living alone, huh. Even my Dad would be against it.”

“Itoko-chan seems to be a responsible person, but she’s still a girl. It’s natural to worry. But I understand Itoko-chan’s feelings.”

Ai-chan and Hazuki-chan seemed to think the same way as me.

“Yeah, it’s not just because she’s a student taking entrance exams. She doesn’t dislike taking care of her younger brother and sister who are a few years younger than her, but she feels like she’s being used conveniently by her family and feels lonely.”

Well, Itoko-chan is reliable. She must be handling it skillfully.

“Oh, I kind of understand. Even if her child-rearing skills improve from high school, it’s not like it matters.”

“Besides, there are five younger siblings below her now, unlike when she was one of six siblings. I don’t know because I’m an only child, but I don’t think they had the luxury of being indulged by their parents.”

Ai-chan and Hazuki-chan didn’t go to the same middle school, right? Speaking of which, Itoko-chan used to come straight home from school during her middle school days and take care of her younger siblings.

“Hana also wants to live alone! After graduating from high school, how about changing MAHO-do into an apartment building? I’ll rent out one room to each of you, so let’s all live together.”

“Stop it, that’s not funny.”

Ai-chan interjected immediately. It must be scary for Hana-chan because it’s like a piece of cake for her.

“Umm, isn’t that what you call living alone?”

Hana-chan’s future path is probably the most difficult. I think we all thought the same thing for a moment. But for now, I want to enjoy our time together and not worry about the future paths.



About a week later, I received an email from Itoko-chan saying that she had probably found a new place to move to. I told everyone at MAHO-do,

“She asked me to accompany her if it’s okay.”

When I explained the situation to Onpu-chan while working in the kitchen, she said,

“I also have the impression that Itoko-chan has many siblings. Itoko-chan is probably always being told that.”

Onpu-chan felt the same way.

“I live alone in the apartment rented by the agency, and it’s a little lonely, but it’s nice to be able to live at my own pace.”

Onpu-chan seems to be a veteran of living alone. Is she capable of living alone because she is reliable, or is she reliable because she lives alone? I wonder which is true.

“You’ve been worried about Itoko-chan since you heard the story. That’s so like you, Doremi-chan.”

“Yeah, when Pop was taking the entrance exams, I was worried too. It’s nerve-wracking enough to have one person taking entrance exams during this season.”

Although it’s a mutual burden since it happens almost every year, Itoko-chan’s burden must have increased as the older siblings moved out. I think the family understands that too.

“Why don’t you just go with her? So, where is she moving?”

Ai-chan and Hana-chan came to the kitchen after selling everything and finishing cleaning the store.

“Um, it seems to be the house of her father’s cousin. He’s a single man around 40 years old and lives alone.”

I heard that the husband of Itoko-chan’s grandfather’s younger sister, or in other words, her father’s aunt’s husband, lives in Tokyo. Even though they’re technically cousins, his aunt passed away a long time ago, and his uncle died a few years ago, so they haven’t had much contact recently.

“It’s in the opposite direction from Itoko-chan’s house, across from Misora High School, but it doesn’t seem inconvenient because there’s no transfer.”

Hazuki-chan looked worried and said,

“But he’s a single uncle. It might be awkward to live together.”

“That’s right. He’s been living alone for a long time, and even though he’s single, he probably has a girlfriend or something, right?” Ai-chan asked.

“Doremi, you’ve got yourself into a tough situation. Take good care of her,” Hana-chan added.

In various ways, I was entrusted with the task of taking care of Itoko-chan. Maybe my best friends were half worried and half interested, but as Onpu-chan and Hana-chan said, once you hear the story, you can’t help but want to be helpful.



“Thank you, Doremi-chan. I was feeling a little uneasy being alone.”

Itoko-chan said apologetically as we rode the train to her uncle’s house,

“Don’t worry about it. I was curious too. But what kind of person is he, and what kind of house does he live in?”

When I asked, Itoko-chan thought for a moment.

“I know he graduated from a famous university, but apparently, neither my father nor my grandfather have seen him at all. I seem to have met him when I was a child, but I have no memory of it.”

Itoko-chan’s family apparently has many siblings, and there are many relatives whose faces and names don’t match.

“For us siblings, we can barely tell most of our relatives apart. Even at weddings and funerals, not every single relative comes.”

I wonder how many people there would be if the entire family and relatives, including cousins, gathered together. I have only one younger sister, Pop, but my friends are all only children, so I can’t imagine what it’s like to have a large family with many siblings.

“Hazuki-chan and the others were worried because it’s a single man’s house.”

When I said that,

“He’s younger than my Dad, but he’s almost 40 already. I do worry about him being like my siblings, rough and tough.”

She said and laughed. Is this what it feels like to have male siblings? If it were me, I would hesitate to live with a single man, even if he were an older man.

We got off the train and walked through the supermarket and shopping district in front of the station, and her uncle’s house was in the residential area just around the corner. It was a Japanese-style house, just like Itoko-chan’s. I couldn’t tell because it was mid-winter, but the garden seemed to be well-maintained, and it didn’t feel like a house for a single man. Itoko-chan rang the doorbell,

“Hellooo!”

Huh? The voice was brighter than I had imagined.

“Welcome, Hamada Itoko-chan. Didn’t you get lost?”

The entrance door opened and a man who was 175 centimeters tall, slender, and estimated to be 38 years old… at least, that’s what I thought… The estimated 38-year-old man looked back and forth between me and Itoko-chan.

“So, which one of you is Itoko-chan?”

“I am. This is my classmate, Harukaze Doremi-chan. I asked her to come with me because I was worried to come alone… You’re Uncle Tsukasa, right…?”

Itoko-chan bowed her head. It seemed like a normal conversation,

“Aunt… Tsukasa by any chance?”

My mind was filled with question marks. It felt like déjà vu. Was it like when Oyajide cross-dressed? He was wearing a white shirt, a cardigan, and black jeans, and he had a bouquet of roses in the background.

“Well, excuse me. I’m a man. Please call me Tsukasa. Oh, it’s cold outside, come on in.”

Tsukasa-san smiled and we followed him as he closed the entrance door. Oh, his hair was a little long too. When we were led into the living room,

img 

“It must have been cold outside. I’ll make some tea now.”

Yeah, in more ways than one.

“Hey, Doremi-chan. Is this room okay?”

Itoko-chan tugged on my sweater.

“Well, I think it’s fine?”

The sofa we were sitting on had a lace cover, and the center table had lace and fresh flowers on it. There were artificial flowers in a large vase on the windowsill. The curtains had a pattern like a medieval painting of a dress, and the interior had a classic, eclectic feel that blended Japanese and Western styles.

Looking at the adjacent kitchen, it was new and incredibly clean. And soon, the smell of tea filled the room.

“Here, please have some. There are also delicious cookies.”

(Oh, it’s a woman!)

To put it simply, that’s how I felt. Seeing the delicate and luxurious looking cups, I couldn’t help but think to myself without making any remarks.

Tsukasa-san looked at us alternately, brought his teacup to his mouth, smiled, and said,

“I know what you two are thinking.”

He took a slow sip and returned the cup to the saucer.



The next day, I went to my part-time job at MAHO-do and told everyone there about it.

“Huh, so you thought he was an uncle, but he turned out to be an aunt? What do you mean?”

That’s where we started. It was the hardest to explain to Hana-chan.

“But Itoko-chan has decided to live with Tsukasa-san, right?”

“Did no one in her family know about his current situation? I mean, about Tsukasa-san’s appearance.”

Onpu-chan and Hazuki-chan also decided to call him “Tsukasa-san” after considering the name. He’s not exactly Itoko-chan’s uncle, but he’s still young and doesn’t have a particularly manly vibe, so it’s hard to call him “uncle”. However, he’s not really an aunt either.

He’s easier to talk to than an older man you don’t know, and he said he’d help Itoko-chan with her study when he’s free. Plus, her room was already prepared.

Tsukasa-san’s room is on the first floor, and the second floor now serves only as a storage space for luggage and books, as well as for Itoko-chan’s room. It’s a spacious and nostalgic wooden house, but the shared bathroom and kitchen have been renovated and are very clean. Unlike me, Itoko-chan is good at housework and keeps everything tidy. I guess it’s like a room-sharing situation.

“Well, if Itoko-chan says it’s okay, then it’s fine.”

“That’s right. If it’s a relative, then her father can rest assured, right?”

Ai-chan and Momo-chan had slightly skeptical expressions, but I guess it turned out okay in the end. Itoko-chan said she would gradually bring her belongings and start living there before the final exams.

And then, Itoko-chan asked me to come and visit occasionally until she got settled in with Tsukasa-san. I nodded, unable to deny that I was curious about Tsukasa-san.



The following week, I visited Tsukasa-san’s house again with Itoko-chan.

But that day, it wasn’t just the two of us. Kudo Mutsumi-chan, who had gone to elementary and middle school with us, and Iida Kanae-chan, as well as Shimakura Kaori-chan, who is now in the same class as Itoko-chan, were also there. I spent my days mostly at MAHO-do, with my close friends and the soccer team, so it had been a while since I had seen Kanae-chan and Kaori-chan, not to mention Mutsumi-chan, who went to a different high school. I hadn’t talked to Kanae-chan in particular since our high school reunion in the spring before we entered high school.

To put it simply, Tsukasa-san works night shifts. He leaves in the evening and returns in the morning.

“Tsukasa-san is like the mama, or maybe the manager, or even the director of the nightclub… whatever you want to call it.”

Itoko-chan told me. I asked why this was the case, even though he had managed to get into a famous university, and he explained,

When I was a student, I didn't have any friends, so studying was all I could do. His mother died early, so he was good at housework in general. He’s not really that gentle of a person, but he said there were times when he wondered if he was born as a man by mistake.

“It’s tough for them. You sometimes see men like that on TV. They seem cheerful, but I wonder if they had a hard time when they were students.”

Kaori-chan said in a serious tone.

“He told me that since I was living here for the purpose of taking the entrance exam, he would take care of my studies during his days off. But I haven’t really thought about what university I want to go to or what kind of job I want to do,” Itoko-chan said.

Her older brothers and sisters have a goal of obtaining real estate-related qualifications that have been passed down from their grandfather to their father.

“I’ll leave the succession to my older siblings and for now, I want to become a civil servant. But there are so many types of civil servants and I don’t know which one I’m suited for,” she continued.

Mutsumi-chan, who was inspired by her love of pro wrestling, also aspires to become a female pro wrestler, she said,

“I’m also working hard every day at the high school with a wrestling team, but I can’t seem to get any results…”

Mutsumi-chan failed the entrance test for women’s professional wrestling because she didn’t grow taller. However, she couldn’t give up and enrolled in a high school attached to a physical education university with a women’s wrestling team.

“Since wrestling is weight-based, my class is the lightest and the most competitive. Even at my school, I can’t make it to the top in domestic tournaments, let alone the Olympics.”

Japanese people are not naturally big, so many medalists are in the lighter weight classes. On the other hand, it’s very challenging to become a member of the Japanese national team. Mutsumi-chan is working hard to become a top athlete, just like Ai-chan.

“I thought Mutsumi-chan was doing what she loves and enjoying her life every day.”

Mutsumi-chan looked lonely and lowered her head.

“Last year was great, but if I don’t get results by the summer of my third year in high school, my family keeps telling me to go to a regular university and get a job. It’s a lot of pressure.”

I thought of Ai-chan and couldn’t find the right words to say. If I were still in elementary school, I would have said, “Do your best” and “You can definitely make it to the Olympics”. However, now I feel like I shouldn’t irresponsibly encourage her.

It’s only been two years since becoming a high school student, but those two years have been big. Even after entering university, if I can’t find the job I want… What will happen if I become a useless adult?

Itoko-chan directed the conversation towards Iida Kanae-chan and asked her,

“Kanae-chan, you’re going to inherit the steakhouse, right?”

Kanae-chan’s family runs a steakhouse, and I was planning on working there part-time when I entered high school. It’s not a chain store, but it’s a good restaurant with a wide variety of delicious food and reasonable prices. It’s so popular on weekend nights that you can’t get in without a reservation.

“It’s often featured in town magazines, isn’t it? I haven’t been able to go there recently. I’ll ask my Dad to take me there next time.”

I murmured as I imagined the sizzling sound of the steak being served, but Itoko-chan ignored me and asked Kanae-chan,

“You’re going to a school for nutritionists or chefs, right?”

“I haven’t decided to inherit the business or anything like that.”

Surprisingly, Kanae-chan replied with a displeased look on her face.

“What? Even though it’s such a delicious steakhouse? I want to be the one to inherit it.”

I raised my voice, but Itoko-chan silenced me.

img 

“Doremi-chan, be quiet for a moment.”

“But, isn’t everyone in your family saying they want you to inherit it?”

Kaori-chan asked, and Kanae-chan sighed,

“They don’t say it out loud, but they all think it’s only natural that I should inherit it. I like helping out at the restaurant and I love the steak, but I don’t know if I want to turn that into a job…”

Her voice gradually trailed off.

“I’ve been wondering lately whether walking on the rails that have been laid out from the beginning is really what I want to do.”

“Well, is there anything else you want to do?”

Kaori-chan asked eagerly, always hungry for new information,

“It’s not like there’s anything in particular that I want to do…”

Kanae-chan muttered, disappointing Kaori-chan. But everyone understood Kanae-chan’s feelings, which she expressed in a quieter voice, that she also wanted to meet her parents’ expectations.

Since I usually hang out with my friends from MAHO-do, it’s a bit reassuring for me to talk to friends who haven’t decided on their future paths yet. Hazuki-chan had said before that there are actually very few high school students who have decided on the job they want to do or their dreams.

As we faced each other with relieved but anxious expressions,

“How are you going to do anything with such a negative attitude!”

It was Shimakura Kaori-chan who said it sharply. I couldn’t help but feel a surge of motivation.

Now Kanae-chan asked,

“Kaori-chan, are you interested in photography? Or do you want to work in the media industry?”

Kaori-chan always carries a camera with her and is sensitive to news. When she was in elementary school, she used to hang out with Tamaki Reika. She used to take pictures of everything and make her friends uncomfortable. But now she’s completely different, she likes to do interviews and is a well-informed person in a good way. I’m also grateful to Kaori-chan for teaching me various information.

“I am aiming to become a professional photographer. So, I’m planning to go to a photography school and improve my skills first.”

“That’s amazing, becoming a photographer.”

Itoko-chan praised her,

“Actually, there are only a handful of people who can make a living as a photographer. But I want to be one of them.”

Kaori-chan seems like the type who works harder when she sets higher goals for herself, like a mountaineer. It would be incredible if she could become a professional photographer. Maybe I should ask her to take some cute photos of me while she’s still practicing.

“But what kind of photography are you interested in? News, glamour, nature?”

I asked, but Kaori-chan didn’t answer clearly.

“I like taking pictures of people and landscapes, but this year I want to work part-time and go to different places to take photos. My goal this summer is to take a solo trip.”

“That’s amazing, Kaori-chan!”

Her eyes were sparkling. She seemed so serious and professional about it. It’s not my personal goal that the soccer team will be selected as a representative and stand on the National Stadium. I want to find my own goals too.

“Doremi-chan, aren’t you good at supporting others?”

Itoko-chan suddenly asked me,

“Huh? Am I? But I’m not really good at it.”

I replied, not even sure myself. I feel like I’m sticking my nose into everything,

“That’s not true. I can’t imagine Doremi-chan working at a computer or a desk. Maybe a job that involves interacting with people would be more suitable for you?”

Kaori-chan nodded in agreement and said.

“Being a teacher or a nurse might be good. Oh, and since you love steak so much, maybe you could work in the customer service industry too.”

Kanae-chan chuckled and added. I still love steak, but I wonder if my friends see me as nothing more than a steak fanatic.



Sometimes before or after going to work at MAHO-do or on days off, we would gather in Itoko-chan’s room like this. Tsukasa-san would leave in the evening and return home early in the morning. He was mainly responsible for preparing meals, but they divided the chores according to their work and school schedules.

Itoko-chan had said that she wanted to work part-time, but her family and Tsukasa-san opposed it. It was natural because she was aiming to get into a national university. As a substitute for part-time work, Itoko-chan’s job became cleaning and maintaining the garden at home. She said she would start a vegetable garden when spring came. Tsukasa-san supported her, and the two of them discussing and planning together looked like siblings.

As we were talking about Itoko-chan in the MAHO-do kitchen, Hazuki-chan smiled and said,

“It’s good for you, Itoko-chan. Tsukasa-san seems like a nice person.”

Ai-chan seemed interested too and said,

“Yeah, I heard that living together or room-sharing doesn’t always work out, but from what Doremi-chan told us, they seem to get along well.”

Suddenly, Onpu-chan also joined in the conversation and said,

“I think Doremi-chan would be good at a job that involves dealing with people too.”

I was a little surprised and looked at Onpu-chan.

“Sometimes you’re not so sure about yourself. And even though I think Doremi-chan has her own perspective, advice is still advice, so it’s good to listen to it,” she continued.

“Well, there’s really no such perspective,” I said.

Then, Hana-chan, who had finished cleaning up the lobby, came into the kitchen and said,

“Doremi seems to have really liked visiting Itoko-chan’s place.”

Hmm, she seemed to be in a bad mood. Upon hearing this, Onpu-chan whispered in my ear,

“Hana-chan thinks that you’re always talking about Itoko-chan, and she feels like you’ve been taken away by her.”

Oh, Hana-chan is so cute. I stroked her head and said,

“After the March exams are over, the club activities will become busy again, and I’ll focus on MAHO-do and the soccer team again.”

I’m sure we’ll have lots of new members next year, and we still have some current members to worry about, as well as a shortage of managers. We need to discuss with the captain, Kotake, the advisor, Yamaki-sensei aka Leon, and the coach to make sure we can participate in the games in the best possible environment.

“Doremi-chan has been a good listener for her friends since elementary school. I only go back and forth between school and MAHO-do, so there are many things I don’t know. Please teach me more.”

I see. Momo-chan always shows her usual smile, but she has busier days than me. She must be aiming to become a patissiere,

“As Onpu-chan said before, sometimes I also think about doing things that are typical of high school students during my high school days. We only have one more year of high school life,” she continued.

“That’s right. Just when I thought things had settled down with Yume-chan, I caused everyone to worry about my house… We only have one more year of high school life. When we graduate, we’ll all go our separate ways. So, I want to enjoy this last year of high school life.”

Hazuki-chan is gradually returning to a normal life. She says it’s all thanks to everyone for helping her recover emotionally, but I think she’s a very strong girl at heart. She’s currently working on her violin with a positive attitude, and she’s also trying new things. She’s so cool.

“It’s surprising how we don’t always know ourselves very well. It’s important to listen to the opinions of various people.”

That was a typical Onpu-chan thing to say as a new drama begins. There are many girls of the same age in the drama, but it’s strange that she doesn’t often play the role of a normal high school girl. I wonder if it’s because she’s just good at acting.

“I’ll start moving in earnest when it gets warmer. I’ve decided to aim to become a trainer after I enter university, so I want to try running on the track as much as I can.”

Because of the connection between me and Itoko-chan, the topic of conversation wasn’t just about me, but also about my close friends. It seems like everyone is going through various worries at this time.



After I got home, I talked about Itoko-chan and everyone’s stories at MAHO-do during dinner. It seemed like Mom and the others also remembered things from the elementary school athletic meet.

“Really. It seems like we still have memories of elementary school days, and we thought things like entrance exams and universities were still far away.”

“Since Doremi is a student taking entrance exams, of course everyone around her is in the same situation.”

Neither Mom nor Dad come to school events together anymore. Once we enter high school, parents only come to the entrance ceremony, graduation ceremony, and maybe parent-teacher-student conferences. The school festival doesn’t really involve the soccer team, and even during the semifinals and finals of the soccer tournament, my parents only come if they have the time.

“Oh, does Pop also have a practical piano exam at the end of the school year?”

When I asked Pop, who was listening to our conversation, she replied,

“Yes, that’s right. It’s still a little while away, but everyone is working hard.”

“It seems that studying at Karen Girls’ Academy is quite demanding. Although she may have outgrown her elementary school days, not only are there classes to attend, but she also can’t afford to slack off on piano practice, so Pop is working hard.”

Mom looked at Pop with a gentle expression.

“I realized that if I lived through my middle school days without thinking about anything like big sis, I would suffer later.”

“Hey, saying that I didn’t think about anything is too much.”

I retorted, but Pop quickly changed the subject and turned away,

“Well, I’m going to practice now. Thanks for the meal.”

Pop stood up and took the plates to the kitchen before leaving the room. I thought it was a lame excuse to leave, but it’s frustrating when it’s not entirely wrong. Mom and Dad seemed to be stifling their laughter.

“There will be an open campus during the summer vacation, right? Make sure to narrow down your choices before then.”

Dad also got up from his seat and sat down in his usual spot in the living room and turned on the TV.

“Pop has been practicing piano every day after dinner recently. There are many rivals, and there are kids who are as good as Hazuki-chan, who are exceptionally talented for middle schoolers.”

“Is that so…”

Certainly, Hazuki-chan’s violin playing was already exceptional when she was in elementary school. She could manipulate it like it was a part of her body. Moreover, she was hardworking.

Come to think of it, I haven’t talked to Pop much lately. Or rather, Pop has become so grown-up since enrolling in Karen Girls’ Academy. She still has her cheeky side, but I wonder if schools really do have an effect on a person’s personality. Even Tamaki seems more mature now.

“It’s not something to worry about too much since she just started junior high, but the entrance exam for the music department at a high school is very competitive, with junior high students from all over Japan competing to become pianists. I’ve been thinking about that lately.”

Mom is a piano teacher at home, so Pop can’t play whenever she wants. But she always spends her free time practicing the piano. Even Hazuki-chan, who could be called a genius, works hard like that.

“You’re doing your best, Pop.”

Faint sounds emanated from the room with the piano.

Keep it up, Pop. I knew that you were hitting the keys with all your might with your little fingers.

img 

I also learned to play the piano when I was a child, but I quit halfway through. Now Pop is carrying the expectations of Mom, who had to reluctantly give up on her hopes for a pianist. I hope she can play the piano happily without feeling any pressure. Just like Hazuki-chan does now.

“I’ll clean up, so Mom can watch Pop play the piano.”

I stood up and began to tidy up the table. Because of my part-time job, I was good at cleaning and doing dishes. Mom also smiled and stood up,

“Well, then, thank you, Doremi.”

She patted my shoulder and left the room. After cleaning up the dining area and the kitchen,

“Hey, Dad.”

I spoke to Dad’s back, as he was watching TV.

“Do you think I’d be suited for a job like a teacher or a nurse? My friends also said that I might be good at customer service.”

Dad turned around and looked at me intently and said,

“Indeed, you seem better suited for jobs that involve interacting with people. However, being a teacher, a nurse, and working in customer service are all different industries. What do you want to be, Doremi?”

When Dad replied to my question by asking one in return,

“I’m having trouble because I can’t decide. Last year, I was already maxed out just working as the soccer team’s manager, and this year we’re aiming for the championship. I can’t do too many things at once.”

“Then why don’t you try researching jobs related to soccer?”

“I love soccer, but I wonder what kind of job there is for it. Hmm, but that might not be a bad idea.”

When I started to worry, Dad turned his attention back to the TV and said,

“There are many people around you who have various jobs. You are doing customer service work as a part-time job, right? If you look around with that kind of perspective, you may make new discoveries.”

It was as if he were talking to an elementary school student who was having trouble coming up with a topic for her summer vacation research project. When the news program started, Dad started to watch it seriously.

I left the living room and went back to my own room. That’s right, I’m still acting like a child. I need to reflect on myself. I’m already a high school student, and it’s my own future, so I can’t just rely on others. Even Pop is facing reality faster than me.



This week, I went to Tsukasa-san’s place again. Whenever I had a day off from my part-time job and the club activities coincided with an indoor training day, I felt like dropping by. Lately, I’ve been getting close to Itoko-chan. The three of us, Itoko-chan, Kaori-chan, and I, took the train in the opposite direction.

“I heard that Kanae-chan is helping out at home.”

It seems that Kanae-chan’s family is not trying to force her to take over the steakhouse. Kaori-chan, who immediately gathered information, said that her parents are still young, and they have good staff.

“It’s still concerning though. Seeing her parents working so hard.”

Kaori-chan, who had gone out to eat with her family the day before and saw her parents working at the steakhouse, and their smiling faces while serving customers in the hall.

“I want steak too. It looks so good.”

“There you go again!”

Itoko-chan and Kaori-chan retorted at me with perfect timing, just like Ai-chan.

When we entered the house, a sweet smell wafted from the kitchen.

“Welcome back. Oh, you have friends with you today. It’s perfect. I baked some chocolate cookies, try them.”

Tsukasa-san casually led us into the living room. Chocolate and vanilla scents filled the room, and after talking about steak, I suddenly became hungry.

“What’s up, Tsukasa-san? There are so many cookies.”

Itoko-chan asked while helping to brew tea.

“Valentine’s Day is coming soon. I thought I’d make cookies this year, so I practiced.”

He arranged chocolate cookies on a large floral plate and placed them on the table. Momo-chan’s cookies are undoubtedly delicious, but Tsukasa-san’s cookies, which were round like macarons, also looked delicious.

“Let’s eat.”

We received our tea and picked up the cookies to eat. Mmm, they were delicious.

“These cookies are really good, Tsukasa-san. They taste like cookies from a famous pastry store.”

It’s not a lie, they really are delicious. Tsukasa-san gave me a shy smile and said,

“Thank you. Itoko’s friend is such a good kid.”

It’s true. I’ve been helping out at MAHO-do making sweets for over a year now. He used really good ingredients and made everything with care. And the slightly lingering scent of liqueur was an accent. It was an adult taste.

“I have to head to the nightclub now, so feel free to stay and relax.”

Tsukasa-san got up and headed back to the room. It only took about ten minutes until he left the front entrance. The black long coat suited his slim figure well,

“I didn’t expect his everyday attire to be so simple.”

Kaori-chan muttered, apparently thinking the same thing. He didn’t wear much makeup, but he took good care of his skin and hair. His clothing and hairstyle were more polished than Mom’s.

“Yeah, he said he dresses up like a stylish dame at the nightclub.”

Itoko-chan, who has already gotten used to the place, told us. A stylish dame, huh… I want to see a picture of him dressed up like that sometime.

If you look closely, the kitchen and living room aren’t particularly masculine, but they’re not particularly girly either. The lace curtains, carpet, and bathroom mat all have a classic feel to them, and they’re not cute.

Chic. That’s probably the best word for it. Oh, and he definitely likes flowers.

“I think it’s the result of a lot of thought on Tsukasa-san’s part.”

With a serious tone, Itoko-chan poured another cup of tea into the empty cup.

“He teaches me on his days off. When I said I wanted to become a civil servant, he told me to narrow it down a bit, but he seems to be good at most humanities subjects.”

“Itoko-chan, didn’t you say that Tsukasa-san was always studying when he was a student?”

Itoko-chan nodded and said,

“He said he hated lying to his friends and wanted to act like a normal boy even at home. Shortly after graduating from university, his father passed away…”

He left more savings and life insurance than I thought he would for me. Maybe my father understood me and wanted to make sure I didn't have to struggle. Maybe I should have told him that myself. But it's hard to tell the truth and make someone worry or sad. Sometimes I still wonder what I should have done.

Tsukasa-san said something like that. In a short amount of time, the two of them were able to have a lot of different conversations.

“I heard that working at a publishing company for almost ten years has been helpful to Tskasa-san’s current job, even though the industries are completely different. So, even if you feel like university or work might not be right for you, if you persevere and work hard, it will definitely be useful someday.”

Itoko-chan said. Come to think of it, Mom said something similar.

“That’s right. I also want to quickly enter a vocational school and learn various skills.”

After Kaori-chan’s positive statement,

“I haven’t found mine yet, but for now, I have to focus on the upcoming test,” I said.

For now, let’s focus on doing our best on the exams. We finished our tea and spread our textbooks on the table.



When I arrived at MAHO-do the next day, I could hear the sound of a violin.

“Tsukasa-san’s Valentine’s Day cookies were delicious. It’s a shame I couldn’t bring them back as a souvenir.”

I said to Momo-chan, who was making a whole cake in the kitchen, and she replied,

“If Doremi-chan says they were delicious, then they must have been really good. But still, they’re more for giving as a Valentine’s Day gift, you know.”

Hana-chan asked with great interest in response,

“So, does Tsukasa-san have someone he likes?”


“Hmm, I haven’t heard anything like that from Itoko-chan. They’re probably for customers or staff of his nightclub.”

I didn’t realize it because Tsukasa-san’s Valentine’s Day cookies were so ordinary.

Hazuki-chan came down from the second floor and said,

“It feels like a long time since we haven’t seen each other for just one day, Doremi-chan.”

Hazuki-chan has been coming to work at MAHO-do every day after school lately. And in her free time, she practices her violin on the second floor of MAHO-do. It’s impressive.

Ai-chan and I decided to switch with Hana-chan and go out to the store lobby with Hazuki-chan. As more of Momo-chan’s sweets were added, customers came and bought them.

Momo-chan’s school schedule is irregular with unpredictable days off, so there are days when she can’t make a lot sweets. But customers have gotten used to it and now check the website and store calendar in advance before coming.

“Momo-chan is amazing, huh.”

While the customers have stopped coming, I said as I was organizing the showcase. Hazuki-chan wiped the water droplets off the showcase carefully and added,

“Really. If she wins a competition with her sweets, she’ll become even more popular.”

“The other day, Momo-chan said she wants to do things that are more like a high school student, though.”

She seems to be enjoying school life and doesn’t seem dissatisfied. And the entrance exam probably doesn’t matter to her.

“But recently, there are more high school students who are expanding globally. It’s not the same for everyone what it means to be a high school student. Of course, if Momo-chan wants to do something else besides MAHO-do’s sweets, I’ll support her too.”

By experiencing everything, Hazuki-chan said with a smile. Hazuki-chan and Ai-chan are both super high school students, and of course, Hana-chan is the next Queen of the witch world and a genius high school student. Onpu-chan is steadily honing her acting skills and challenging herself with new roles.

As I chatted with the customers coming to the store, I thought about what I should do in the future. Dad told me to pay more attention to what’s around me.

The customer base at the store has shifted from housewives and students to people returning from work. They stop by MAHO-do on their way home from work.

“I wonder if everyone is feeling relieved after eating sweets when they come home tired.”

I said after finishing up the store’s closing and returning to the kitchen,

“When you’re tired, you crave something sweet.”

“And sometimes you want to reward yourself, right?”

Ai-chan and Momo-chan said in unison.

“Come to think of it, the customers who come just before closing often buy only one item. I thought it was because there were fewer sweets left, but maybe they’re single.”

Hana-chan said as if she had just remembered.

“I think MAHO-do is a convenient store to buy just one thing from. So when I think they’re coming back from work, I try to give them a feeling of ‘thank you for your hard work’ when I hand it over.”

Hazuki-chan said with a smile as she came in, putting away the cleaning tools.

“I see. Recently, there have been more regular customers who only buy one item. They’re all important customers, so I want them to feel happy with Momo-chan’s sweets.”

“I would be so happy if my sweets could make you happy.”

I believe that Momo-chan’s sweets have power too.

I imagined myself, exhausted from work, taking a break alone in a cafe, then going home to take a shower, and then quietly taking a bite of the sweets placed in the middle of the table like a ritual.

“Oh, I wonder what kind of job I’ll be doing at that time.”

I unintentionally said it out loud, and everyone focused on me.

“What’s wrong, Doremi?”

Hana-chan asked me with her round eyes.

“Oh, maybe she imagined herself quietly eating sweets at home?”

Exactly, Ai-chan.

“Eating sweets alone is cool, Doremi-chan!”

Despite the trend of advertisers targeting single men with “men’s sweets” or “men’s cooking”, Momo-chan encouraged me…

“Oh, Hana will use magic to level up Doremi’s skills. What do you want? Speaking English fluently? It’s impossible to change your face or height though.”

“No, Hana-chan. That’s the last thing you should do.”

“Itoko-chan and Kanae-chan haven’t decided on their future school yet. Don’t worry, Doremi-chan. We all have dreams, but our future isn’t promised to us. We’re in this together.”

“No, Hazuki-chan, you’re definitely leading the way, so that’s it.”

It seemed like we were going to fall into an infinite loop or something.

Majorika and Lala were amused and said,

“Doremi, I thought you were gathering with others who haven’t decided on their career path to give yourself some breathing room, but it’s pointless to become more anxious.”

“Why don’t you just get promoted from a witch apprentice to a witch?”

Oh~~, I get it~~.

That night, I called Onpu-chan. She was curious about Itoko-chan and the others and Tsukasa-san.

“So, in the end, I still haven’t decided on what job I want to pursue…”

As I vented my frustration,

“Just because you haven’t decided yet doesn’t mean you have endless possibilities. That’s not like you, Doremi-chan. You need to think more positively.”

That’s how it has been until now.

“Isn’t this the result of procrastination?”

Onpu-chan chuckled and said,

“I’m sure it’s because you have too much free time. New students will come in April, and there will be weekly games for the club activities. Then you won’t even have time to think about yourself.”

“That’s definitely true, but…”

“Doremi-chan, you’re always good at noticing things about other people. So, maybe someone else will give you an idea for your future.”

“Is that so? But do you think that’ll happen this year?”

If it’s ten years from now, it’ll be too late for a lot of things.

“If you keep your antenna up, Doremi-chan, you’ll notice it, probably.”

“What do you mean, probably?”

“It’s getting late. We have school tomorrow. Good night, Doremi-chan.”

“Hey, wait, isn’t this a familiar pattern, Onpu-chaan…”

Feeling drained, I closed my phone and connected it to the charger.

Even though I hang out with people who are similar to me and even with my super high school student-level best friends, I just keep getting anxious and can’t make a decision. Everyone should be giving me hints and I should have met a lot of people who could be my role models.


“Antenna, is it like a big parabolic dish?”

Lying in bed, I closed my eyes. I’d attach a big parabolic antenna on top of my head and look around more carefully. I’d listen to what different people have to say. In the end, I have to decide which school to attend, but I have to make sure I don’t regret my decision.

“But I wonder if the school I choose will accept me.”

As I was thinking about that, sleepiness overtook me. I wondered if I’d remember what I thought about today tomorrow.

Comments: