Despite the onset of the cold winter winds in December, the grounds of Misora High School were filled with heat and excitement.

At the center of it all was the soccer team, led by the new captain, Kotake. Despite losing their third-year members and being reduced to two-thirds of their original size, all the team members were shouting at the top of their lungs and practicing with great enthusiasm.

It wasn’t just the soccer team that was heated up. The track and field team was also in a frenzy.

Ai-chan, who had been working behind the scenes as a sports trainer, returned to the track to pursue her Olympic dream in the 400-meter race, which was a significant factor in the excitement.

Journalists from track and field magazines, Ai-chan’s fans, and alumni all came to watch her run with ardent admiration.

Though Ai-chan had only recently switched to the 400 meters, she seems to be breaking her own records every day, although she still isn’t fully satisfied with her performance.

──Whenever Ai-chan is running, she’s shining the brightest.

I thought to myself, gazing at her every day during soccer practice breaks.

There are less than four months left of my second year of high school, but it seems like more bad things have happened than good.

It all started with Ai-chan’s major injury, followed by Onpu-chan’s stalker incident, Momo-chan’s failure and heartbreak in the patissier competition, and the soccer team’s defeat in the prefectural tournament final. It seems like bad things just keep happening one after another.

It feels a little lonely that the only ones doing well are Hana-chan, who has found her little sister Yume-chan, and Hazuki-chan, who is steadily progressing as a professional violinist.

I’m a little embarrassed, but one good thing is that the distance between me and Kotake has narrowed slightly.

There were too many things going on, and I ended up with disastrous results in my second term exams. At the parent-teacher-student conference, it was decided that I would go to a private humanities course in my third year. Mom wanted me to go to a national university course, but she seemed to have no choice but to give up when she saw my grades. Dad was more easy-going, saying that as long as I was enjoying my life as a soccer team manager, it was fine.

“Studying isn’t everything. If Doremi is happy, that’s enough.”

While saying that, he didn’t forget to remind me to decide on my career path by the time I became a third year student.

Hana-chan, who finally became the top student in our grade in the final exams, had already decided to go to a national university course for science and technology after ranking third in the prefectural mock exams and 52nd in the national exams, becoming a rising star at our school. If only I could study one-tenth as hard as Hana-chan, I wouldn’t have to struggle… I have to do my best!

Meanwhile, MAHO-do has become lively again as we head into the Christmas shopping season, with Momo-chan at the center of it all, having recovered from the shock of being rejected from the patissier competition.

Momo-chan declared that all her Christmas cakes this year would be original, but they weren’t finished yet. I wonder what kind of cake she’ll make. That’s what I’m most excited about right now.

Momo-chan’s cakes have a mysterious power to make people smile when they eat them.



In the midst of all that, a new incident occurred on the eve of Momo-chan’s new cake announcement.

It was a major event that had a greater impact on me and everyone else than Ai-chan’s serious injury. I think it’s safe to say that it was the biggest event of my high school life.

On that day, Onpu-chan, who had just been chosen as the lead actress for a new drama series, rushed into MAHO-do looking pale.

“What’s wrong, Onpu-chan? Momo-chan’s new cake will be announced tomorrow.”

I said as I arrived earlier than usual because the club activities were on holiday,

“That’s not important right now! Hazuki-chan’s house seems to be in trouble!”

Onpu-chan’s voice trembled slightly. Hana-chan, Majorika, Lala, Dodo and the other fairies in the kitchen came out, worried.

“Did something happen to Hazuki?”

Majorika asked.

“It’s not Hazuki-chan… I’m sorry. I ran from the train station and got thirsty.”

“I’ll get it for you.”

Roro flew to the sink, poured water into a glass, and quickly returned.

“Thank you.”

Onpu-chan received the glass and drank the water all at once, making a sound with her throat.

“If it’s not Hazuki-chan, then did something happen to her parents?”

“Did Baaya-san get sick?”

Lala and I asked urgently.

Onpu-chan took a deep breath to calm down.

“Today, after school, I went to the filming studio for a drama costume fitting. After the meeting, I was having tea with my manager in the studio cafeteria when people from a movie company at the next table started gossiping about Hazuki-chan’s father.”

“I remember Hazuki-chan’s father saying he directed a big period drama that took two years to make.”

When I said that, Onpu-chan nodded her head and continued talking.

“It was supposed to be released in the spring next year, but it might be shelved.”

“What does ‘shelved’ mean?”

Hana-chan asked.

“It means the movie won’t be released.”

“Wasn’t that movie a project that Hazuki-chan’s father had been planning for many years, and finally managed to get into production?”

“Yes…”

“Why was it shelved?”

Onpu-chan asked Roro again for more water. When Roro brought her the water, she drank half of it and put the glass on the table.

“It seems like the media hasn’t reported it yet, but the lead actor in that movie was caught with marijuana today and arrested by the police.”

“W────What!?”

Everyone exclaimed in shock.

“You mean Kuribayashi Yuichiro, the super-popular actor who swept all the lead actor awards with the movie he starred in last year?”

“I also acted with him as a child actor, and he lost twenty kilograms for the role in his drama, creating an intense and frightening atmosphere.”

“He’s the type who gets deeply involved in his roles, and his personal life is also shrouded in mystery. I read that in some magazine.”

Lala, who had watched his drama, said.

At that moment, a figure could be seen at the entrance, so everyone except me retreated to the kitchen.

When I finished serving customers and went to the kitchen, everyone was watching the news on TV.

On the screen was the figure of Kuribayashi Yuichiro, wearing a hoodie and being taken away by police officials. The camera flashes were showered on him like a storm, and the entertainment reporters bombarded him with questions, but Kuribayashi Yuichiro remained silent as he boarded the police vehicle.

When Majorika changed the channel to another TV station with the remote control, an emergency press conference was being broadcast with Hazuki-chan’s father and a man who seemed to be a producer.

Hazuki-chan’s father remained silent with a stern expression throughout the conference. Instead, the producer answered questions while wiping his sweat with a handkerchief, but his expression showed signs of distress.

At that moment, my cell phone rang. It was from Hazuki-chan.

“Doremi-chan, I’m sorry. I won’t be able to go to MAHO-do today.”

“I’m watching the news on TV right now, and it looks like your father got caught up in something serious.”

“Yes, I just got back from practice, and media people came to our house too, so Mama and Baaya are busy dealing with them. I don’t think I’ll be able to come over until the commotion subsides, so please tell everyone for me.”

“Got it. Hazuki-chan, if there’s anything we can do, just let us know!”

“Thank you. Well then.”

When I turned off my phone, Ai-chan, who was doing extra practice for the club activities, and Momo-chan, who was making a trial Christmas cake at home, rushed in.

Ai-chan didn’t seem to know anything, but Momo-chan happened to meet her on her way back from the club activities and rushed over together after hearing the news.

“On the news, they said that Hazuki-chan’s father’s movie premiere is going to be canceled, is that true?”

Momo-chan asked us while looking at us.

“I think it’s probably true.”

Onpu-chan answered, and Ai-chan also became serious and said,

“If that’s the case, the movie company will be in the red.”

But Onpu-chan immediately shook her head.

“I think it’s a blow that the movie scheduled for next spring can’t be released, but if they release another movie, the company itself won’t go into the red.”

“I don’t understand. What do you mean?” Momo-chan asked.

“That movie, you know, was made with the production costs raised by Hazuki-chan’s father’s company.”

“So, the movie company didn’t spend a single penny?”

“Right…”

“That’s too bad… the one who would be most troubled if it was shelved would be Hazuki-chan’s father’s company!”

Onpu-chan nodded slightly.

“That’s strange! The actor who got arrested is the one at fault, right? Hazuki’s father is not at all to blame!”

Hana-chan made a valid point, but Onpu-chan let out a small sigh in response.

“In the movie and entertainment industry, this kind of thing happens often. When a performer or someone involved in the production gets involved in a drug-related incident, commercials are canceled and movie releases are suspended.”

“Hana-chan doesn’t get it!”

I understood Hana-chan’s feelings, but I also knew that this was a common practice in the entertainment industry.

“The one who will suffer the most from now on is Hazuki-chan’s father.”

“That’s right. In Japan’s movie industry today, most directors don’t belong to movie companies anymore. They either make movies by contracting with individual movie companies or, like Hazuki-chan’s father, produce movies through their own companies and get them distributed by movie companies.”

“So, Hazuki-chan’s father will be burdened with a huge debt?” Ai-chan asked.

“That’s what I’m worried about…”

Onpu-chan fell silent.

Majorika’s expression turned bitter, and she let out a deep sigh.

“We don’t know how much debt he’ll have to bear, but Hazuki’s family might be in trouble from now on.”

In the end, we closed the store early that day and went to see how Hazuki-chan’s family was doing.

As Hazuki-chan had said on the phone, about twenty media personnel had gathered in front of the gate intercom of the Fujiwara family.

Hazuki-chan’s mother’s voice could be heard over the intercom.

“We will not answer any questions until my husband returns. Please take your leave.”

Nevertheless, the media personnel seemed to want to get a comment from Hazuki-chan’s mother, and they did not leave easily.

The frustrated Baaya-san came out of the front door and shouted,

“I’m sorry! But please take your leave immediately!”

Because of her powerful voice, the media was reluctantly forced to wait in a car parked nearby.

During that time, we tried to go to Hazuki-chan’s house, but we noticed that Onpu-chan was also here,

“Onpu-chan might be interviewed too. Let’s give up for today,” Ai-chan suggested.

“Maybe that would be better,” Momo-chan agreed.

We decided to encourage Hazuki-chan through email and left the scene.



From the next day, we sent emails to Hazuki-chan’s computer and cell phone every day, but she did not reply to anyone.

In the meantime, various TV information programs devoted significant time to the series of marijuana incidents.

It was the morning of the third day when we lost contact with her.

While I was having breakfast with my family and watching a TV information program, the marijuana incident was still being discussed.

An executive from the movie company was being interviewed, and the company officially announced that the release of Director Fujiwara’s work would be postponed for the time being.

“Shelved, huh…”

“Hazuki-chan’s father must be in a tough spot.”

Mom and Dad looked worried.

“Hazuki-chan hasn’t been coming to Karen Girls’ Academy… Is she okay, big sis?”

“I’ve been sending her emails but I haven’t received a response. That’s why I’m worried.”

“Pop, shouldn’t you go to school soon?”

“I have to go. It’s already this late. Thank you for the meal.”

Pop tried to take her dishes to the kitchen, but Mom stopped her.

“You don’t have to do that. Hurry up and go.”

“Okay, bye then!”

Pop grabbed her bag and tennis racket, flipped up the hem of her Karen Girls’ Academy uniform skirt, and left.

Misora High School is closer than Karen Girls’ Academy, so I could take it a bit more slowly.

“Doremi, there’s no morning practice today?”

Dad looked at me with ease and asked.

“A bunch of underclassmen who saw the soccer team’s success wanted to be managers, so Chinami-chan and I interviewed and hired three people. That’s why I don’t have to go to morning practice every day anymore.”

“I see. Aren’t you acting like a senpai and bossing people around?”

“Of course not!”

When I shouted in protest,

“Be quiet for a moment!”

Mom raised her voice even louder.

As Dad and I looked on, Mom was fixated on the TV screen.

On the screen, Hazuki-chan’s father was being interviewed by entertainment reporters in front of his home.

Although Hazuki-chan’s father is usually plump and always smiling in front of us, you could tell from the screen that he had lost a lot of weight and looked tired.

Most of the reporters sympathized with him, but some reporters asked,

“I hear the director chose Kuribayashi Yuichiro as the lead actor? As the director, how do you feel about not noticing him smoking marijuana?”

They asked scathing questions. Still, Hazuki-chan’s father replied,

“I take it very seriously. The filming was long and hard, and there were many scenes that required intense acting. They might have pushed him to the brink.”

Even though he would have been justified in bad-mouthing him, Hazuki-chan’s father was covering for Kuribayashi Yuichiro, with whom he shared room and board during the long shoot.

The presumptuous reporter asked about the amount of debt and how he planned to repay it.

Just as I leaned forward impulsively, Mom said,

“Doremi, you’ll be late if you don’t leave now. Go!”

But the most important part was yet to come.

“Just a little bit more!”

“What are you saying? After getting such grades in the final exams, there’s no choice but to rely on your academic record! If your only redeeming points of perfect attendance and no absences end, you won’t be able to get into any university!”

“Well, that’s true, but…”

“Just go!”

“Okay…”

I went to school reluctantly.



When I arrived at the classroom, the students from Misora First Elementary were gathered around Hana-chan’s desk. Shimakura Kaori-chan ran up to me as soon as she saw me.

“Harukaze-san, do you know how much debt Hazuki-chan’s father has?”

“I don’t know that much.”

It seemed like Kaori-chan and the other classmates had only watched the news up to the same point as me.

Everyone looked disappointed, as if they wanted to get information about Hazuki-chan’s family from me.

“If it’s worth billions of yen, Hazuki-chan’s house is probably mortgaged too…”

Kaori-chan trailed off before finishing her sentence.

──In the worst case, could they lose their home?

I thought that for a moment, but didn’t say it out loud.

What would happen to Hazuki-chan if that happened? No, no, I shouldn’t think about that…

Just as I stopped my thoughts, the chime signaling the start of class rang.



The first class was English.

Hana-chan, who was pointed out by the teacher, read the textbook with beautiful pronunciation. It was so close to native that I wondered where she learned it. It’s understandable why Momo-chan, a returnee, praises her.

I tried to concentrate on the class, but I couldn’t stop thinking about Hazuki-chan, it just kept bothering me…

“Next… Harukaze, read it.”

“……”

“Doremi!”

With Hana-chan’s voice from the back of the room, I finally came back to my senses.

“Eh? What? What?”

“The teacher called on you, Doremi. Start reading from here.”

Hana-chan pointed to the textbook and told me which part to read.

“Harukaze, what are you spacing out for? If you want, you can cool your head in the hallway.”

“N-No thanks!”

I quickly stood up and started to read, stumbling over the words, which was a big difference from Hana-chan. As I did, I saw a figure passing by quickly in the hallway.

I immediately recognized that it was Ai-chan from her height and silhouette. Surely, Ai-chan was late because she must have watched Hazuki-chan’s father’s interview on TV until the end.

I was thinking about such things while reading, so the teacher was exasperated and said,

“That’s enough! Harukaze, at least do some preparation!”

“Sorry~…”

I had no choice but to sit down and shrink into my seat.



After the English lesson ended, Hana-chan and I hurried to the next classroom to meet Ai-chan.

As I expected, Ai-chan had watched Hazuki-chan’s father’s interview until the end.

Momo-chan was also next to Ai-chan.

“So, how much debt was there?”

“For that and the repayment method, he wouldn’t comment on anything.”

“I see…”

“That reporter really gets on my nerves. Since yesterday, relatives have been gathering at Hazuki-chan’s house, holding a family meeting to discuss the debt problem. They keep asking if a conclusion has been reached. They should be more empathetic towards the family’s struggles! For heaven’s sake!”

Ai-chan was very angry.

“So, what did her father say?”

“He wouldn’t answer such a question! He shouted, ‘That’s none of your business!’ and ended the interview.”

“That’s understandable…”

“Hana-chan hates those reporters too.”

“I feel the same way!” Momo-chan added.

“That’s right. And get this - they even tried to ask for a comment from Hazuki-chan, who was just trying to enter the school through the back entrance!”

“What did you say!?”

“Even to Hazuki who has nothing to do with it!? That’s just cruel!” Hana-chan said.

“But, a savior appeared!”

Ai-chan continued, patting her knee.

“Yada-kun’s here!”

“As expected!”

We nodded in agreement.

“I think he rushed over because he was worried, but he looked cool doing it.”

“Mm-hmm.”

We leaned forward in excitement.

“He stared down the reporters and said, ‘Fujiwara has nothing to do with this! You guys have no right to barge in like that with your shoes on!’ Isn’t he cool?”

“Mm-hmm.”

“Then, while the reporters were stunned, he grabbed Hazuki-chan’s hand and ran past them like a scene from a movie.”

“That’s great!”

We breathed a big sigh of relief.

“It’s really great to have a reliable boyfriend.”

Ai-chan said with heartfelt sincerity and continued.

“Hey everyone, let’s take today off from club activities and go see Hazuki-chan.”

“That’s a good idea. But, there will be reporters watching us,” Momo-chan said.

“That’s when we use magic.”

I winked, and the three of them smiled.



After meeting up with Onpu-chan, who was off from work, we left MAHO-do and entrusted the store to Dodo and the others. Then, we went out to the backyard.

I tapped the Parara Tap twice with everyone else.

The taps and our rings linked together, and we began changing into our witch apprentice uniforms as we danced to our individual choreography.

Gloves, boots, clothes, hats, all flashed and were worn, transforming us into witch apprentices.

“Pretty, witchi, Doremi-cchi!”

“Pretty, witchi, Aiko-cchi!”

“Pretty, witchi, Onpu-cchi!”

“Pretty, witchi, Momoko-cchi!”

Hana-chan also changed instantly using her crystal ball.

“Pretty, witchi, Hana-chan-cchi!”

We each said our catchphrase and finished changing. Finally, all together we said,

“Mo~tto! Witch apprentice, version 17!”

We struck a cool pose.

Then, we took out our magic brooms and rushed to Hazuki-chan’s house.

In front of Hazuki-chan’s house and the backdoor, the press was still gathered as usual, which could be clearly seen even from high up in the sky.

“To enter without being found by the press, we need to transform with magic,” Ai-chan said.

“Then leave it to me!”

“Eh!?”

Everyone made an unpleasant face, but I tapped my Parara Tap and summoned the Sweet Poron, then quickly chanted a spell.

“Pirika pirilala poporina peperuto! Everyone, become invisible!”

In an instant, everyone became invisible.

Although we became invisible, our apprentice clothes and brooms remained visible.

“Shouldn’t everything be invisible?” Onpu-chan asked.

“Ooops.”

“Oh well. Let’s hide the apprentice clothes and brooms somewhere,” Ai-chan suggested.

We rapidly descended and landed on the balcony in front of Hazuki-chan’s room, took off our apprentice clothes, and placed them on the floor together with our brooms.

“But, it’s a good thing. It wasn’t cockroaches,” Onpu-chan said.

“I definitely thought it would be cockroaches,” Ai-chan said.

“I always knew Doremi-chan was capable,” Momo-chan said.

“Great, great!” I said.

Although we couldn’t see each other through the transparency, I knew that everyone was relieved. Back when we used to sneak in with magic, we often transformed into cockroaches. But things are different now. There’s no way 17-year-old young maidens would become cockroaches.

“If we transformed into cockroaches and were found by Baaya-san, she’d hit us with a broom and send us to heaven.”

“Haha. I see,” Ai-chan said.

“Fufu, well then, shall we get going?” Onpu-chan said.

Since the window of Hazuki-chan’s room was not locked, we were able to easily enter.

Hazuki-chan was still not home.

So we left the room and went down the stairs, just as Baaya-san was carrying a tea set and entering the reception room.

The door was immediately closed, but we quietly opened it and went in.

In the reception room, in addition to Hazuki-chan’s parents, six middle-aged men and women were sitting on the sofa with exhausted expressions.

All six of them were faces we had seen at Hazuki-chan’s birthday party. I think they were Hazuki-chan’s mother’s relatives, her uncle and aunt on her mother’s side.

Baaya-san served freshly brewed tea to each person, but no one drank it.

Then, Hazuki-chan came home.

“I’m home.”

“Welcome home, Miss Hazuki.”

Baaya-san bowed deeply.

“Hazuki-chan, did you get caught by the media people?”

“Masaru-kun acted as a barrier and guarded me, so I was able to get in smoothly.”

“I see. That’s good.”

“The great aunties are still here, right? Thank you for your hard work.”

Hazuki-chan bowed to the aunts, but everyone just gave a wry smile.

“Hazuki-chan, I’ll have Baaya bring you some snacks, so go to your room.”

“But…”

“These are all stories that I don’t want Hazuki-chan to hear. Please understand.”

“I understand.”

Hazuki-chan glanced briefly at her silent father, then bowed to the aunts once again before leaving.

We wanted to follow Hazuki-chan, but we were concerned about the family conference and decided to stay a little longer.

After that, silence fell again,

“We can’t go any further with this discussion. We have no choice but to sell this house.”

And then the youngest-looking uncle spoke up.

“I lived in this house until I was 22 and then got married from here. I can’t believe our family home will be gone…”

The oldest aunt teared up.

“That’s why I told my late older brother. It’s not good for Reiko-chan to marry a man with an incomprehensible profession like a movie director.”

The second oldest aunt spoke bitterly while glaring at Hazuki-chan’s father, who was sitting with his head down.

Although Hazuki-chan’s father is an adopted son-in-law, this was too much. Being a movie director is a respectable profession…

Baaya-san seemed to share the same thought as me, and was about to say something, but Hazuki-chan’s mother stopped her and spoke up.

“We understand how you feel, dear aunts. We will handle this as a family, so please go home now. Baaya, please call a taxi.”

“Understood.”

Baaya-san bowed and left the room.



After about 20 minutes, a taxi arrived and the three couples left.

Hazuki-chan’s mother went to see them off at the entrance and then came back to where her father was slumped on the sofa, saying,

“I’m sorry. I ended up putting you in an unpleasant situation.”

“No, it’s my fault. I put this house up as collateral and even dipped into your savings to make that movie…”

“What are you saying? Wasn’t that movie your dream? I don’t have any regrets.”

“Thank you…”

Hazuki-chan’s father replied, taking an envelope out of his jacket pocket and handing it to her.

“What does it mean?”

Hazuki-chan’s mother took a piece of paper out of the envelope.

“W-What’s this!?”

“It’s a divorce form.”

──D-Divorce form!?

We all gasped in surprise, but just then Hazuki-chan burst through the door.

“Stop it!”

Hazuki-chan took the divorce papers from her mother.

“I absolutely refuse to let Mama and Papa get divorced!”

Tears welled up in Hazuki-chan’s eyes.

“Hazuki… please, listen to what Papa has to say. I intend to take responsibility for all of the debt. The movie company can’t lend me any money, but they said they’ll give me priority for TV drama work. I don’t know how many years it will take, but as long as there is work, I can manage somehow. To move you all out of this house full of memories would be even more painful to me than death itself. If only you would file for divorce…”

When her father started to speak, her mother snatched the divorce papers from Hazuki-chan and tore them up with a rip.

“What are you doing, Mama!?”

“Hazuki-chan and I are on the same page.”

“Mama…!”

Hazuki-chan hugged her mother.

“Papa and I will be married until we die… no, even after we die!”

“And I’ll always be Papa’s daughter!”

“Mama… Hazuki…”

Her father covered his eyes with his right hand. Tears spilled through his fingers.

We also tried hard to hold back our voices and cried along.

Then we heard the sound of Baaya-san sobbing from the hallway.

“Baaya!”

Hazuki-chan and her mother rushed out to the hallway and gently embraced Baaya-san’s shoulders.

We quietly climbed the stairs and went out onto the balcony in front of Hazuki-chan’s room, where we cried out loud.

Ai-chan, who had experienced her parents’ divorce, was crying with a runny nose.

After a while, when our tears stopped, we put on our apprentice clothes and left Hazuki-chan’s house.



Three days later, Hazuki-chan came to MAHO-do.

Except for Onpu-chan, who was working, everyone was busy preparing for the Christmas cake campaign. The fact that Hazuki-chan’s parents’ divorce had been avoided was a big reason why Momo-chan changed the cake design drastically.

At first, the Christmas cake designed by Momo-chan was an innovative one that expressed Santa Claus’s face using gel coating and fruits such as strawberries and blueberries.

“I’ll change the theme to family love. I want to make a cake that will make people feel warm and fuzzy just by looking at it, like the kind of family that Hazuki-chan has.”

The cake itself was basically the same as last year’s Bûche de Noël, but this time there was a chocolate cake in the shape of a house next to it, and on top of the Bûche de Noël were marzipan figures of children, parents, and grandparents.

At first, we were all in a panic because of the sudden change.

We called on the wholesale witch, Dela, to help us with the material procurement and price negotiation. We also created flyers and posted photos of the cake on our website to encourage reservations. Despite having all the time in the world, it still wasn’t enough.

It was a very labor-intensive cake, but it was filled with Momo-chan’s love. As for me and Hana-chan, who were in charge of the marzipan, our hearts were warmed and smiles came naturally to our faces while making it.

Momo-chan and the fairies were in charge of the Bûche de Noël, while Ai-chan, Majorika, and Lala were in charge of the chocolate cake in the shape of a house.

However, we still didn’t have enough manpower, so there was nothing we could do but work hard.

Just as we had an idea of when it would be finished by Christmas Eve, Hazuki-chan came to us.

“Everyone, I’m so sorry for taking a long break. From today until Christmas, I’ll come and help every day.”

Hazuki-chan seemed to have let go of something, and had a calm expression. I knew from the media that the sale of her family’s large mansion had been decided and that the debt had been repaid, as well as the fact that her parents had avoided divorce crisis, so when I saw Hazuki-chan change into her patissiere outfit, I couldn’t help but feel relieved.

“Well, that’s a huge help!”

Majorika and Lala were overjoyed, but wait…!

“Hey, Hazuki-chan, what about your violin lessons?”

When I asked, she replied,

“I’ve decided to quit playing the violin.”

I wasn’t aware of her nonchalant answer, so I said,

“Oh, I see.”

But in the next moment I realized and added,

“What did you saaay!? Wait, wait, what are you talking about!?”

“Hazuki, I almost believed you. That’s enough joking around.”

Hana-chan said, and she replied,

“It’s not a joke.”

“Whaaaaat!?”

At our loud voices, Ai-chan dropped the iron plate she was trying to put in the cooking stove, and Momo-chan squeezed the squeezer tightly, accidentally spraying whipped cream all over Rere’s face.

“W-What are you doing, Doremi!? Why are you screaming!”

Majorika glared at me.

“Hazuki-chan said she’s quitting the violin!”

“What did you say!?”

“What does that mean!?”

“Explain it properly!”

Majorika, Ai-chan and Momo-chan shouted and everyone gathered around.

“Do your parents or Yada-kun know?”

Lala asked calmly, and Hazuki-chan shook her head and said,

“It’s a decision I made just now, so they don’t know. Also, I plan to transfer to Misora High School and quit Karen Girls’ Academy.”

“Whaaat!?”

“I’m looking forward to being in the same high school as Doremi-chan and everyone else.”

“Wait a minute, Hazuki!” Hana-chan exclaimed.

“What’s the matter?” Ai-chan asked.

“Your father’s debt problem has been settled, right?” I asked.

“Yes, we’re planning to move into an apartment in the city this month and work hard as a family.”

“But you can’t just give up playing the violin that you’ve been learning since you were three, right?” I said.

“Exactly! You even won second place in an international competition, it would be such a waste! Think again!” Ai-chan said.

“I’m totally against it!” Momo-chan protested.

“Hana-chan too!”

It was natural for everyone to be against it. As I tried to stop her and persuade Hazuki-chan further, she spoke up first.

“I’m really happy everyone cares so much, but think about it. Mama was used to a sheltered upbringing, putting me aside, can you imagine her enduring life in a small apartment and poor diet?”

“Well, that’s…”

“It does seem impossible, but…” Ai-chan said.

Everyone’s tone of opposition lowered.

According to Hazuki-chan, her mother had closed down her interior design office, given a satisfactory severance payment to a few employees, and even helped arrange for them to find new jobs at other offices. From now on, she intended to continue working from scratch.

“Even though I think both Mama and Papa will likely oppose it, I can’t go on leisurely living the same life as before. Please try to understand.”

Her expression was calm, but her words conveyed an unwavering, strong determination.

Hazuki-chan may seem quiet at first glance, but I knew she had an unyielding will once she decided on something, so we gave up persuading her that day and focused on making the cake instead.



However, unable to resign ourselves, we also contacted Onpu-chan and Yada-kun and requested that they persuade Hazuki-chan. The next day, the two of them met with Hazuki-chan in person and tried to persuade her, but the result wasn’t good.

Our last recourse was Hazuki-chan’s family, but it seems that not even her mother’s tearful pleas could sway her.

“Wasn’t Baaya-san against it?”

“Baaya is my biggest supporter. She silently accepted it.”

At the point where we had no more options, we were about to give up, but then a savior appeared.

It was our elementary school teacher, Seki-sensei.

Seki-sensei came to make a reservation for a Christmas cake, but Hazuki-chan hadn’t arrived yet. Seki-sensei knew about the commotion at Hazuki-chan’s house from the TV news, and she came to see Hazuki-chan’s face out of concern, which I also found out.

I told her that Hazuki-chan was trying to quit playing the violin and transfer from Karen Girls’ Academy to Misora High School.

“If only I had come a little earlier. There is a way to change Fujiwara’s mind.”

“Really!?”

“Yeah!”

At that moment, Hazuki-chan came to the store.

“Seki-sensei!? …Oh, you came to hear from Doremi-chan. But my mind hasn’t changed.”

“No, Hazuki-chan. Seki-sensei came to make a reservation for a Christmas cake.”

”! …Oh, is that so? Sorry, I jumped to conclusions…”

“There’s no need to apologize. Instead, Fujiwara, there’s a way you can continue playing the violin and not burden your parents or transfer to Misora High School.”

“Huh?”

“You can use a scholarship. Sensei used it to graduate from Karen Girls’ Academy and become a teacher. You can pay it back gradually over about 10 years after graduation, so I think it’s a good option.”

“……”

“Hazuki-chan, you should do it.”

“……”

“Fujiwara, you don’t really want to quit playing the violin or leave Karen Girls’ Academy, right?”

Hazuki-chan nodded.

“Okay! Then let’s not waste any time! Let’s go apply for the scholarship. Sensei will go with you.”

“But…”

“Don’t worry about the store. We’ll manage it.”

“Doremi-chan, thank you.”

After putting Hazuki-chan on the back seat of her beloved motorcycle, Seki-sensei dashed away.

I explained everything to everyone in the kitchen who didn’t know about my conversation with Seki-sensei. They were all overjoyed.

An hour later, Hazuki-chan came back with Seki-sensei’s help.

According to Hazuki-chan, Seki-sensei went straight to Karen Girls’ Academy’s principal and arranged for her to receive a scholarship starting next month. All she had to do was get her parents’ signatures on the application form.

When Hazuki-chan finished telling us, her smile was the usual lovely one.

“When you have free time, Hazuki, feel free to come and work part-time anytime. It’ll be a good addition to your private lesson fees.”

“Thank you, Majorika. And thank you, everyone.”

“That’s great, Hazuki-chan.”

“Why are you saying such a weird thing!” Momo-chan said.

“That’s right, Hazuki,” Hana-chan said.

“We’re all best friends here!” Ai-chan said.

“We are! We are!”

We all said as we exchanged handshakes, celebrating Hazuki-chan’s new beginning.

“Don’t forget to contact Yada-kun, Hazuki-chan.”

“Oh, I already sent him a message before leaving school, so it’s okay.”

“Oh, I see! He knew ahead of us.”

I pretended to pout, and Hazuki-chan hurriedly responded,

“I thought I could talk to everyone in person…”

“Hazuki-chan, Doremi-chan said that on purpose,” Ai-chan reminded her.

“Huh? Really?”

“Hehe, you two are so sweet.”

“Oh Doremi-chan, you’re too much!”

Hazuki-chan’s face turned bright red as she spoke, and everyone burst out laughing.



More than 100 Christmas cakes were sold besides the pre-orders, and they were all sold out before 5 PM on December 25th without any price reductions.

After closing the store early, a small Christmas party was held just for us in the kitchen of MAHO-do.

With the busy Christmas Eve and today, we were so busy that we needed an extra pair of hands. Majorika, who made a fortune, was in a good mood and gave us a bonus of 20,000 yen.

We handed the bonus over to Hazuki-chan.

“What do you mean?”

“We have our part-time job pay, so it’s fine,” I said.

“It’ll help pay for the lessons,” Hana-chan said.

“It’s just a token of our appreciation. Please take it,” Momo-chan said.

“Don’t hesitate.”

“Hazuki-chan!”

“……”

Hazuki-chan might not have accepted the bonus in the past, but considering her current situation, having money was better than not having any if she wanted to become a violinist.

“Thank you, everyone. I will use it wisely.”

Hazuki-chan hugged the five envelopes containing the bonus to her chest.

Afterwards, we had a party with our families, and the MAHO-do party ended in about an hour. We took our remaining Christmas cake and headed home.



Winter break had already begun, and except for Onpu-chan, who had started filming for a drama, and Hazuki-chan, who had resumed her private violin lessons, everyone else had come to the MAHO-do in the morning. Christmas had passed, and customers were few and far between, so the atmosphere was relaxed.

However, that atmosphere was shattered in an instant.

Hazuki-chan, who was supposed to be on break from her lessons, came running into the store, threw herself into my arms, and burst into tears.

Even when her house was sold, Hazuki-chan was always composed and never shed a single tear. I couldn’t help but think that something terrible had happened.

“Ha-Hazuki-chan… W-What’s wrong?”

Hana-chan and the others in the kitchen rushed into the store lobby.

Hazuki-chan was just crying on my chest.

“Hazuki-chan, we don’t understand if you just cry.”

Ai-chan handed her a handkerchief.

“Hazuki, tell Hana-chan and the others what happened.”

Finally, Hazuki-chan took the handkerchief and wiped away her tears, and began to speak in a trembling voice.

“Baaya… said she’s leaving the house and going to Oshamambe in Hokkaido where she has relatives.”

“What happened!? Why!?” Momo-chan shouted.

“That old lady has been a housekeeper in your house for decades, right?” I asked.

“50 years… even before Mama was born… ugh.”

Hazuki-chan started crying again.

“Why does she want to leave?” I asked.

Hazuki-chan struggled to hold back her tears and bit her nose with the handkerchief.

“I’m sorry… but Baaya says she’s not confident in her housekeeping job anymore because of her recent forgetfulness and increased fatigue due to her age.”

“That doesn’t seem to be the case. Even during that commotion when the media people rushed to Hazuki-chan’s house, she was yelling at them and looking very energetic…” I said.

“…Baaya is lying.”

“Lying?”

Hana-chan asked in confusion.

“She thinks that the best way to reduce our living expenses is for her to retire.”

“That’s exactly what Baaya-san would think,” I said.

“Even though Mama and Papa knew it and said they could pay her salary just fine, she just shook her head and wouldn’t listen…”

Once again, tears spilled from Hazuki-chan’s eyes.

“Doremi, Aiko, Momoko, Hana, the store is closed today! Let’s go and persuade the old lady!”

As expected of Majorika! We took her advice and decided to visit the Fujiwara family with Hazuki-chan to persuade Baaya-san.



“Well, well, everyone is here. What brings you here today?”

That was Baaya-san’s first remark when she saw us. And she even smiled.

The house was in the midst of moving preparations, with cardboard boxes piled everywhere.

“Baaya-san, this is Hazuki-chan’s moment of truth. Please don’t quit, keep supporting Hazuki-chan,” I said.

“That’s right. You seem perfectly fine, so don’t go to Oshamambe,” Ai-chan said.

“Hazuki-chan definitely needs you, Baaya-san,” Momo-chan said.

“You can always go to Hokkaido later. Please stay by Hazuki’s side,” Hana-chan said.

While we desperately tried to persuade her, Baaya-san kept smiling.

“Baaya-san, please!”

When we all bowed our heads together, Baaya-san spoke up. She still had a smile on her face.

“Your thoughts make Baaya so happy that she could cry. But Baaya will be eighty this year. I want to spend my remaining years peacefully.”

“But…”

I tried to push further, but Baaya-san spoke first, looking around.

“I’ll let you in on a secret. The apartment we’re moving to soon is cramped, so it’s uncomfortable for me.”

“That’s like the saying, ‘when in Rome’, Baaya-san.”

Oh, that wasn’t a good analogy, Momo-chan.

“No, Momoko-sama. It’s ‘when in the capital’.”

Baaya-san added a witty remark with a smile.

“Who cares about that! Help Hazuki!”

Hana-chan retorted, patting Hazuki-chan’s shoulder, who had been silent and looking down since earlier.

“I’ve been living in this vast mansion for a long time, so I think I’ll feel claustrophobic in an apartment. I don’t think I’ll be able to sleep well. In contrast, my relative’s house in Oshamambe is more spacious, and the air is fresher. I think I can live longer there.”

She smiled as she spoke, but even I could tell she was lying.

Still, we kept persuading her for almost two hours, but Baaya-san didn’t nod her head in agreement even once.

In the end, we had no choice but to slump our shoulders dejectedly and leave.

During that time, we were silent.

I thought Hazuki-chan’s personality, which never budged once she made up her mind, was probably inherited from Baaya-san. No, she probably had a stronger will than Hazuki-chan. And she was a person with unparalleled kindness, I’m sure.



In the end, even with the persuasion from Hazuki-chan’s family, Baaya-san remained steadfast, and time kept passing until the day of departure finally arrived.

It was December 30th, with the end of the year approaching.

On that day, the moving day for Hazuki-chan’s family coincided, and from early in the morning, the moving company workers were frantically loading their belongings onto the truck.

MAHO-do was closed for the year-end holidays, and we were hoping for a final, grand comeback, so we transformed into hamsters using magic for the time being. If we remained in our human forms, we could complicate things by standing out too much. Well, it was all about being considerate adults, you know.

We were watching Baaya-san and Hazuki-chan’s family from behind the bushes. The drama filming was also on hiatus, and Onpu-chan had come running over to join us.

A taxi arrived at the entrance’s parking space. It was probably arranged by Hazuki-chan’s parents to take Baaya-san to Haneda Airport.

Soon after, Baaya-san came out with Hazuki-chan and her parents, dressed in her usual kimono with a shingen bag in her hand.

Hazuki-chan, who was carrying Baaya-san’s luggage, had red, puffy eyes. She had probably cried all night long.

Both her father’s and mother’s faces were marked by the fatigue of their ongoing persuasion.

“Well then, thank you so much for everything, madam, sir. Baaya has been very happy.”

Baaya-san bravely bowed deeply.

“Baaya…”

Hazuki-chan’s mother hugged Baaya-san tightly. Unable to find the words, tears streamed down her cheeks and fell one after another onto the ground.

Her father gently held her mother’s shoulder and separated her from Baaya-san. His eyes were also filled with tears.

Baaya-san smiled as she looked at Hazuki-chan, who was already sobbing.

“Baaya!”

Hazuki-chan clung to Baaya-san and wept. I think this was the first time I had seen Hazuki-chan cry so loudly. The kind Hazuki-chan had cried for me before. She had cried for Ai-chan before. She had cried for Onpu-chan, Momo-chan, and Hana-chan too. But her tears on this day felt more sad and painful than any before.

Even our hamster-shaped feet were soaked in tears.

Baaya-san gently wiped away Hazuki-chan’s tears with a handkerchief as she continued to cry, then placed her hand on Hazuki-chan’s shoulder and looked her in the eye.

“Miss Hazuki… Thank you for listening to Baaya’s selfishness.”

Hazuki-chan shook her head as much as she could.

“Miss, can you indulge Baaya’s selfishness one last time?”

Hazuki-chan tried to hold back her tears and nodded.

“Please play the violin for Baaya.”

“…Alright, Baaya.”

Hazuki-chan jumped into the house and came back with her violin.

“What song do you want me to play?”

“The piece you played in the international competition.”

“The violin concerto by Saint-Saëns. It’s the only thing I can do for Baaya, but I’ll play my heart out.”

Hazuki-chan let out a small breath before she picked up her violin and began to move the bow quietly. Her eyes were no longer teary.

It was a wonderful sound.

With all the emotions of cherishing the nearly 17 years spent with Baaya-san, sometimes cheerful, sometimes rough, sometimes sad, sometimes gentle… Hazuki-chan played her violin with all her heart.

We had heard Hazuki-chan’s performance in the international competition.

But this performance was even more soulful and magnificent than what we had heard then.

Although Baaya-san had been listening with her eyes closed, she must have felt Hazuki-chan’s emotions through the sound of her violin. Tears flowed down her cheeks, despite her trying to be strong.

I knew it. In the winter of the sixth grade, Hazuki-chan was deciding whether to attend the same middle school as me or to attend Karen Girls’ Academy. Baaya-san encouraged her, saying, “Obey your heart, not anyone else’s.” We ended up going to different middle schools, but we remained best friends, and Hazuki-chan later told me that Baaya-san’s decision was not wrong.

img 

When the performance ended and Hazuki-chan lowered the bow, Baaya-san applauded.

Then, she took Hazuki-chan’s right hand in both of her own and said with a beaming smile.

“Thank you very much. Please remember, miss, that the melody of your violin has a mysterious power to make me happy. Please cherish your talent and become a splendid violinist.”

“Baaya…!”

Hazuki-chan was about to cry again, but she tried hard to smile and said,

“Baaya… When I fulfill my dream and become a professional violinist, I’ll definitely invite you to my concert. Please live long and wait for me. It’s a promise.”

She held out her little finger.

“Of course!”

Baaya-san smiled kindly and linked her own little finger with Hazuki-chan’s.

“Fingers crossed, if I lie, a thousand needles to endure!”

The two of them sang innocently together.

We couldn’t take it anymore. We had been silently crying and watching, but we all simultaneously broke the spell and jumped out of the bushes.

“Baaya-saaan!”

“Oh, is this Doremi-sama and everyone! Did you come to see me off? Thank you very much.”

Everyone had tears streaming down their faces.

We took turns bending down and hugging the diminutive Baaya-san.

We couldn’t speak because we were choking back sobs.

Nevertheless, I tried my best to hold back my tears and said,

“Baaya-san… please let us try your Oshamambe-style omelet… someday when we go to Hokkaido.”

Huh!? Why did I say something like this at this important moment of farewell?

“Doremi-chan, that’s not appropriate!”

Ai-chan interjected quickly.

When everyone’s smiles returned, Baaya-san bowed deeply to everyone.

“Well then, take care.”

She said and called out to the taxi driver.

Hazuki-chan tried to get into the taxi to see her off at Haneda Airport, but Baaya-san stopped her,

“It’s okay here. If we see each other off any further, I’ll be left with regrets.”

Baaya-san took her luggage from Hazuki-chan and closed the door for the driver.

The taxi slowly started to move.

Hazuki-chan ran after the taxi to the street.

We followed her.

“Baaya, I’ll definitely become a violinist and keep my promise, so please keep yours too!”

Hazuki-chan kept waving her arms vigorously towards the departing taxi.



(Ojamajo Doremi 17 Continued in the next volume)
Comments: